Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Camera choice  (Read 8696 times)

larkis

• My photography blog
Camera choice
« on: March 09, 2010, 04:56:50 pm »

I'm not a professional photographer but my hobby away from the computer graphics studio is landscape photography. Recently I have been considering upgrading my digital camera, the D100 which was mostly used for photographing textures to something I can use in place of my 4x5 film camera for landscape photography. Since this is a hobby, top of the line gear is probably out of my range, but I also don't like to get cheap equipment.

If anyone with hands on experience could jump in and let me know how cameras like the nikon D3x and a digital backs such as the P25+ compare to each other. They have a similar amount of megapixels but the digital back has a much bigger sensor, yet the SLR's seem to be able to shoot in low light which is sometimes useful but not a must have for me.

What would you guys choose for landscape work for under $ 25,000 ? A low end digital back or a high end slr with a few top of the line lenses ?

pindman

Camera choice
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2010, 08:08:53 pm »

Having and using both, the difference between the Canon 1DS MkIII and the P45+ back in moderate to large prints is huge, especially in prints larger than 20x30.  The ultimate test for me is what I am willing to carry on back (as I only weigh 130lbs).  The medium format comes unless there's absolutely no way to carry it.   The only area where MF loses is with telephoto lenses, but it's amazing what you can get away with in cropping MF, as there's no blur filter.  There should some excellent deals out there in MF backs, so definitely try them out.

Paul

Quote from: larkis