Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Technical Cameras with integrated sliding back: why not?  (Read 7945 times)

DanielStone

Technical Cameras with integrated sliding back: why not?
« on: November 02, 2009, 03:57:42 am »

I was looking through ALPA's discontinued products the other day, and I noticed that they had they had the SST still up.

I was hooked. Now, I'm just a humble photo student, not even at the beginning of his career yet, but I must say; I was lusting very badly  

having considered the digital world from capture to output (I'm still mainly with m/f and l/f film), its just too expensive right now to get in.

Then I figured, why didn't they continue with this? I mean, so many people use technical cameras, I have a friend who uses a P25+ with a A12max and SWA for shooting architecture. He loves it! But he's complained to me multiple times of wanting a sliding back, so he can focus(well, rough focus) on the g/g, and just slide the back in to shoot it. He uses film still on occasion, and it would be a treat to do it like this, compose, and slide in your 6x9 film back and shoot.

it is bukly, I'll give it that. and probably more cumbersome than some(probably most) people would want.

but I'd bet it would have people buying it. even if it was a special order item.

and to me, its a very nice looking camera, my opinion

here's some pics so you can see

http://www.alpa.ch/image.php?file=images/p...mp;output=thumb

any ideas? any future products that might be like this?

-Dan

PdF

« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2009, 04:04:39 am »

<<any ideas? any future products that might be like this?>>

The Sinar arTec !

PdF
PdF

tho_mas

« Reply #2 on: November 02, 2009, 04:06:19 am »

Quote from: DanielStone
any ideas?
Sinar ArTec

DanielStone

« Reply #3 on: November 02, 2009, 04:06:50 am »

but I don't believe the artec can take film backs, or am I wrong?

6x7(rb67) or 6x9 roll film backs are what I'd be most interested in.