Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Mamiya/Phase One 645, System Questions  (Read 2409 times)

Gary Ferguson

• http://
Mamiya/Phase One 645, System Questions
« on: August 24, 2009, 06:49:57 am »

I've recently upgraded my P45+ to a P65+, at the same time I switched from Hasselblad V (which I've used for over thirty years) to the Mamiya/Phase One 645 body (where I have zero experience!).

Overall I'm impressed with the Mamiya/Phase One system and lenses, but I'd like to learn more before investing further into the system. Unfortunately finding answers is proving difficult. I'm not getting much response from Phase One, and unlike Hasselblad V you can't fall back on thorough documentation from the likes of Ernst Wilde or the Zeiss web site.

So I hope someone here can help with the following,

1. I'm very impressed with the digital lens correction facilities for the Phase One lenses in C1, however it recognises some lenses but not others. For example, C1 recognises and beautifully corrects the Phase One 45mm and 80mm lenses, but it only partially recognises the Mamiya 150mm AF 3.5 lens and the Mamiya 300mm AF APO 4.5 lens. It can identify the focal length and shooting aperture on these two, but that's it. No surprises there, I didn't expect anything else and I don't think I'd see much practical advantage from automated digital lens correction on these two particular lenses. However, I'm thinking of buying two other lenses where I would expect to see material gains, the 28mm and the 75-150mm. I can either buy the Phase One versions, or save a great deal of money by buying the Mamiya "D" specification versions. The question is, will C1 recognise the Mamiya "D" 28mm and 75-150mm lenses, and provide the full suite of automated digital lens corrections?