Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Yellow Acacia, Ngorongoro  (Read 2737 times)

kab

Yellow Acacia, Ngorongoro
« on: August 07, 2009, 03:20:21 pm »

Hi,

I'm new to photography (and all the tools), and I'm looking for constructive criticism.  Any/every part of the process is fair game: image capture, developing, conversion to web viewing (image seems to have lost highlights on the ground and become more saturated in the branches), forum posting decorum.

Shot late afternoon in Ngorongoro crater, Tanzania.  Hurrying to leave for the day, asked the driver to stop, and had everybody else in the car wondering what animal they were supposed to be looking at.

[attachment=15876:Yellow_A...orongoro.jpg]
---

Canon 40D, 100-400L @ 100mm, ISO400, f/5, 1/400s.
RAW, processed with ADR 5.4; pushed a full stop (yes, if I could have left the vehicle and set up a stable tripod, I would have modified the exposure - this was the best of 4 shots).

---

thank you,
Kent

shutterpup

« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2009, 03:32:32 pm »

Forgive me; is this sky in the background or is it trees? It looks unnatural to my eye. If it's trees, I would have included a bit of sky to give you an idea of a wooded area directly behind the tree.

Chairman Bill

• flickr page
« Reply #2 on: August 07, 2009, 03:45:07 pm »

The hillside provides a good contrast to the tree, which clearly demonstrates why it's called the Yellow Acacia. If you'd had the option of a narrower depth of field it would have been good to leave the hill really out of focus.

cmi

« Reply #3 on: August 07, 2009, 04:09:48 pm »