Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Expose to the Right -- sensor bit depths  (Read 2018 times)

boku

• http://www.bobkulonphoto.com
Expose to the Right -- sensor bit depths
« on: April 14, 2004, 06:02:10 pm »

Bits are not stops.

12-bits amounts to 2E12 gradations of R, G, or B. That's a lot, no?

Over a 6-stop range, the digital record has that many gradations possible.

Maybe someone else can explain it better.
Bob Kulon

Oh, one more thing...[b

Cliff Thomas

« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2004, 07:18:44 pm »

I meant the LINEAR curve of the sensor.  Sorry.

Cliff Thomas

« Reply #2 on: April 14, 2004, 04:34:58 pm »

I just read your "Expose to the right" with great interest.  I am thinking about upgrading to a DSLR with 12 bit A/D converter.  I have wanted one ever since a job of mine showed me what could be done with satellite images and and tonal curves.  

As an old computer scientist, I understand about the exponentially decreasing number of levels as you move to a lower level signal.

What hit me between the eyes was your statement that an SLR has 5 or 6 stops of range.  Whoa -- 12 bit A/D and 6 significant bits of data.

I can think of several possible explanations:
1) The article considers darker zones unusable because of significant "banding" from few intermediate levels.  Here a 12 bit converter should push that problem several zones further away. (In this case I should go ahead with my upgrade.)

2) We have a triumph of marketing over engineering. Perhaps, consumer sensors can't really produce a true 12 bit image.  You get a 12 bit value but the low order 6 are just noise.  (In this case, I should save my money for something else.)

3) Most likely.  The article meant something else by this comment and I just haven't figured it out yet.

Please help me understand.  In the right hand half of the historgram, how many significant bits should I be able to expect from a camera like a Nikon D70 or Digial Rebel?