Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Finally Making the switch to Digital ....!!!!  (Read 2314 times)

JAPP

Finally Making the switch to Digital ....!!!!
« on: May 19, 2009, 02:27:05 pm »

Hello ...  I have long waited to make the switch from film to digital and feel it is finally come ... I have always ben a Nikon user , my current system is F5, 28-70 2.8 , 105 macro, 70-200 2.8 and a 15 mm 3.5 manual AIs .... my question and wanted advise is which body to buy.. I have been looking at D700 , D90 ... also interested in the filmic video out of the DSLR's .. Do I go whit the D700 for stills , or wait for the next  D700 revision .. and also interested in the New panasonic GH1 whit and adapter for my Nikon glass for video .....

Please I am new to the Digital world and need much advise.... I do a lot of UnderWater photos so that is also a thing to consider....

[attachment=13787:roatan_15.jpg]   [attachment=13789:silueta_.jpg]   [attachment=13788:camaron_1.jpg]

Er1kksen

« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2009, 05:40:39 pm »

For underwater photography, there are two points I think you ought to consider: First, there is less light down under the surface, so the camera's low-light performance is important. Second, using a camera underwater in a housing, a large, bright viewfinder would no doubt be incredibly helpful.

Based on these and your current set of Nikon glass, I'd advise you to go with the D700 if you've got the funds. The photos are as clean as they get at high ISOs and the AF system works wonders in dim light, and since it's got a large FX sensor the viewfinder is large and bright. Not to mention that all your lenses will behave the way you're used to with your film F5.

JAPP

« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2009, 06:31:44 pm »

Quote from: Er1kksen