Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: 101 3800 -muddy  (Read 3348 times)

stephenjedgar

101 3800 -muddy
« on: April 23, 2009, 08:52:31 pm »

hi again gang!

trying out some new profiles for the moab entrada 190 rag paper.
 somewhere during the process the tests have
taken on a certain flatness...milkyness.  No real crisp blacks, and no real white.  NO PUNCH.

while I am sure this has a lot to do with the fact that the profile is not 100%, I'm wondering if
this sounds at all familiar?  Did I do something wrong here!? Yes, I've boosted the contrast and crushed
the blacks but still....

Also, because I am a newbie to the inkjet thing I must ask about the constant swapping between blacks.
I haven't changed the paper during the tests, or the profile, or the 'quality' settings....but it continues to
do so every 3 or so prints.....is this normal?

I'm on Mac osx, ps cs3,

thanks guys and gals

s

howardm

101 3800 -muddy
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2009, 09:16:17 pm »

what makes you think it's swapping?

are you sure you're using the right equiv. paper in the driver for the Moab?

ddk

• http://www.pbase.com/ddk
101 3800 -muddy
« Reply #2 on: April 23, 2009, 09:17:50 pm »

Quote from: stephenjedgar
hi again gang!

taken on a certain flatness...milkyness.  No real crisp blacks, and no real white.  NO PUNCH.

while I am sure this has a lot to do with the fact that the profile is not 100%, I'm wondering if
this sounds at all familiar?  Did I do something wrong here!? Yes, I've boosted the contrast and crushed
the blacks but still....

Also, because I am a newbie to the inkjet thing I must ask about the constant swapping between blacks.
I haven't changed the paper during the tests, or the profile, or the 'quality' settings....but it continues to

I'm on Mac osx, ps cs3,

thanks guys and gals

s

Sounds like you might be printing on the back side of the paper, it happens.
david
-----------------------
www.pbase.com/ddk

stephenjedgar

101 3800 -muddy