Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Continuous lighting for high speed camera  (Read 4231 times)

rsmith

Continuous lighting for high speed camera
« on: November 12, 2008, 05:50:26 pm »

I need a lighting set up for a high speed camera that will be arriving shortly and I am fairly new to continuous lighting.

I have been told LED panels are generally well suited for this application because of good lighting output without any chance of flicker. If anyone can give guidance into a setup or resources that talk about this kind of lighting it would be much appreciated.

We will be shooting from a macro level up to medium size product with frame rates ranging from 200 fps to upwards of 10,000 fps

Chris_Brown

• Smile dammit!
    • Chris Brown Photography
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2008, 09:27:08 am »

Quote from: rsmith
We will be shooting from a macro level up to medium size product with frame rates ranging from 200 fps to upwards of 10,000 fps
10,000 fps means your exposure is a bit shorter to allows for the mechanics of the film gate to open & close. This means an effective exposure time of 1/12,000 second. Another parameter is your aperture. Shooting macro requires a smaller aperture due to the shorter depth of field, so let's assume f8. Another parameter is ISO, which you did not indicate. But given the first two parameters, you're gonna need high sensitivity, at least ISO800. Lastly, the strength of the light will depend on its distance to the subject, and this is totally subjective since each object will be lit to enhance its appearance. A 10K light can be placed farther from the object than a 5K light.

Will you light the objects for beauty of simply to be able to record them?
~ CB

edwinb

• http://www.image2output.com
« Reply #2 on: November 22, 2008, 02:49:00 pm »

Quote from: rsmith
I need a lighting set up for a high speed camera that will be arriving shortly and I am fairly new to continuous lighting.