Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Camera Recommendation  (Read 2516 times)

CCNautical

Camera Recommendation
« on: March 02, 2008, 12:00:38 pm »

Hi,

I am looking to buy a camera to do professional marine\nautical photography.  I am new to this so all recommendations and advice is appreciated.

I will be looking to process some of these photographs into fairly large prints 24X36 so I believe I will probably need a 12 Megapixel capable Camera.

Please Advise.

Chris..

feppe

• Oh this shows up in here!
    • Harri Jahkola Photography
Camera Recommendation
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2008, 12:59:36 pm »

Hi and welcome to the site!

Your question is very vague (no budget mentioned, your experience, type of shooting) and open-ended. I'd say just read a lot of reviews here and elsewhere, visit shops, etc. This is especially important if by pro you mean your livelihood depends on your photography and your equipment.

For your environment you really need a camera with proper weather sealing. That's needed to protect from salt water which is pure death to metal and electronics. And since you're doing professional photography you need a second weatherproofed back as backup in that environment, especially if you do longer trips out-of-reach of 24-hour pro replacement services.

If you plan to do underwater photography that's a whole another ball-game and something which I know nothing about.

And if you need to go that large in prints, you would be better off with a 20+ megapixel camera.

With lenses a basic pro setup can easily cost 10k+ USD/EUR.

CCNautical

Camera Recommendation
« Reply #2 on: March 02, 2008, 01:52:15 pm »

Feppe,

Thank you for your response.

No underwater photography.  Mostly pictures of sail and power boats, beaches etc.

Shooting experience I am a beginner. As far as budget, I am trying to keep that open ended so if you could recommend a few for varying price ranges that would be appreciated.

Chris...

feppe

• Oh this shows up in here!