Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Best introduction to Photoshop (CS3) ?  (Read 4451 times)

The View

Best introduction to Photoshop (CS3) ?
« on: September 28, 2007, 12:11:32 am »

Except for a short stint on Photoshop 4.0 years ago (it was a title page, not a photograph) I am new to Photoshop.

I bought one book, the "CS3 book for digital photographers" by Scott Kelby. While it looks like it is a very useful book, it doesn't give me insight in the workings of the program. It is more like a recipee book.

I want to know how something happens, and why, and how different actions relate.

Only then I can - gaining experience with this software tool - decide what approach to use to get a certain result that I can see with my "inner eye".

Reference: the classic painters learned everything about their tools, the colors, perspective, how to paint certain materials like stone, marble, human flesh that it looked real. They covered their basics, had their behinds covered, knew how to connect inspiration and the earthy, factual tools they used. Their art had both feets on the ground, or otherwise, it wouldn't have worked.

So this is my attempt to get my feet on the ground, Photoshop-wise.

Results of my research of CS3 books:

A -  general CS3 books

1. Photoshop CS3 One-On-One - Deke McClelland

2. Real World Adobe Photoshop CS3, by David Blatner, Conrad Chavez, Bruce Fraser (on preorder status)

B - Photoshop books, specializing in the photographers' needs.

1. Adobe Photoshop CS3 for Photographers,  by Martin Evening

2. Real World Camera Raw with Adobe Photoshop CS3, by Bruce Fraser, Jeff Schewe (on preorder status)

Only two of these books are available at the moment.

Would you recommend starting with Martin Evening's book?

Or rather, with the more general, less photographer oriented, basic approach of Deke McClelland in his One-on-One series book?

Or do you have any other suggestions?