Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: 5D; history of pricing.  (Read 5123 times)

Mike W

5D; history of pricing.
« on: August 28, 2007, 08:59:50 am »

Hi Everyone,

this might sound like a strange question, but I'll explain why I ask in a bit.

I was wondering how much time elapsed between the release of the canon 5D at full price, and how long it took, and in how many steps, to drop to the current price level (arround 2500 now)

The reason I ask: I am a photography student, with unlimited access to studios, high-end Canon and Nikon gear and digital backs. This time next year, I'll be out of school and up shit creek without a digital camera.

I prefer the canon 5D, since it's a full-frame, lightweight and overal very decent camera with good image quality. But I'm going to wait for it's successor. Nobody can guess what the price will be, but for planning and budget-purpose I would like to know when the canon 5D made a significant drop in cost and regard it as a reference for the future 5D v2.0.

It's not exactly rocket science, but it might just help a teensie bit since I'll be making a lot of additional costs the coming years.

thanks.

theophilus

5D; history of pricing.
« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2007, 04:32:17 pm »

I bought mine in May '06 for 2800 - ~$200 rebate.  I think it took 4-5 months to fall from 3100-3400 down to 2800.

LA30

5D; history of pricing.
« Reply #2 on: August 28, 2007, 04:33:43 pm »

Nobody can guess what the price will be
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=135938\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

I will, $3,299 USD.

The "new" 1DSMIII msrp is $7999 USD.  It is safe to guess the 5DMII will be 3300.  It is has been out for about 2 years.  Student?  Pick up a nice used 5d.  Best of luck.

Ken

BJL

5D; history of pricing.
« Reply #3 on: August 28, 2007, 04:48:52 pm »