Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: A couple of TIFF questions  (Read 2197 times)

Steven Draper

• http://www.stevendraperphotography.com
A couple of TIFF questions
« on: June 19, 2007, 04:22:00 pm »

Any help with these questions would be great.

So I have a nice RAW image a little work to adjust a few things here and there, but is it best to tweak the curves, colour etc. in 12-bit Raw or after converting to 16-bit TIFF?

I have my TIFF, in theory should this be upresed NOW to the max size / resolution prior to working on it? (I know this is probably not possible due to file size on most computers in practice, but curious)

Now I have a "master" tiff, and I do various things, curves, perhaps some blending etc. I have a Tiff which then might have a couple of layers, background, Curves, Dodge & Burn, Noise Control etc. I save - Big File!!!

Then I want to make a few versions, a print, I resize the image in genuine fractals, maybe need to tweak the curve, apply all the sharpening, perhaps a grain effect. Save as a layered (incase I want to change things - bin this later or after the client has seen the image), and as a flattened which I use to make the print. May be another size of print too - plus of course a couple of Jpegs for the web.

Suddenly I find one image with a couple of version is several hundred Megs even over a Gb of files space. Is this how it is and I just need lots of HD space, or am I missing something that may be useful.

Your help is greatly appreciated.
Steven
« Last Edit: June 19, 2007, 04:25:37 pm by Steven Draper »
image examples are at my website  [url=h

marcmccalmont

« Reply #1 on: June 20, 2007, 01:15:15 pm »

I made a compromise with 5D files, I convert to a tiff with DXO preserving data (looking for a nice histogram, shifted to the right, no clipping) I then do most post processing in PS. Once in PS I upsize the file to a standard size (for me)