Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Wide angle lens for Rebel XTi  (Read 8459 times)

cowboy

Wide angle lens for Rebel XTi
« on: April 09, 2007, 05:51:23 pm »

Have any ideas for a wide angle lens for landscape work. Most of the zooms I have found are beyond my budget. I have a 28 to 80 mm and find on the Xti I would like to go wider. I would consider a fixed lens and or MF to give me the equivalent of 28mm or so. Is there any such animal that yields good quality and falls in at $300 or less?

DarkPenguin

« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2007, 06:06:13 pm »

15mm f2.8 sigma.  Oh, and buy ptlens to go with it.

EDIT: Thought you said wider than 28mm equiv.

For 28mm equiv at that price you're probably looking at the sigma 17-70.
« Last Edit: April 09, 2007, 06:07:07 pm by DarkPenguin »

cowboy

« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2007, 08:30:37 pm »

Thank you Dark Pequin. I'm pretty new at this: What is a ptlens??

Richowens

« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2007, 08:37:53 pm »

Ptlens

PTLens is to correct distortion, vignetting and abberations in lenses. It is a Photoshop plugin.
I think tom asks for a $5.00 donation for it. Whatever the cost it is well worth it.

Rich
« Last Edit: April 09, 2007, 08:38:47 pm by Richowens »

DarkPenguin

« Reply #4 on: April 09, 2007, 09:07:50 pm »

What he said.

The sigma 15mm is a fisheye.  It isn't as fishy with a crop camera but there are times that you want to correct the distortion.  PtLens is great for that.

What I liked about the 15mm was that if you didn't have to correct the distortion it was extremely sharp.  (Plenty sharp even if you did.  But the corners could get pretty iffy.)  Rather wish I hadn't sold it.

cowboy

« Reply #5 on: April 09, 2007, 11:45:18 pm »

Got it! Thanks again. I'll go hunting for the 15mm (used).

Eric Myrvaagnes

• http://myrvaagnes.com
    • http://myrvaagnes.com
« Reply #6 on: April 10, 2007, 12:03:56 am »

What he said.