Raw & Post Processing, Printing > Adobe Lightroom Q&A

Looking for a compact camera for tethering to Lightroom

(1/2) > >>

dennmorr:
I have been using a tethered camera on a boom to photograph scenes on a diorama.  I have been doing this for probably 14 years. My camera is a Canon a620 and I use Breeze Systems PS remote for software.  It has worked fine for my purposes (See my website https://diographics.com/   The laptop  I use is ancient and PS remote is not supported any more. I am attempting to update my system to use a newer camera and Lightroom as the software. I need a small camera with a zoom lens and I need to control the focus and other settings as well as have live screen monitoring.  I have tried to find a compact camera that works with lightroom or otherwise can be controlled remotely but so far have had a hard time.
Hoping for help!
Dennis Morris

Rhossydd:
There doesn't seem to be any compact cameras supported for tethering in Lightroom.
https://helpx.adobe.com/uk/lightroom-classic/kb/tethered-camera-support.html

If you don't need the features of newer cameras, an old DSLR from Canon or Nikon off that list could be a cheap and better option.

If you're determined to use a compact, I'm sure there are plenty with remote control software options and you could just use LR with it's auto import function on a watched folder.

dennmorr:
Thanks for the reply.  I am somewhat limited by the weight and size on the boom and the ability to put the camera into tight spots low to the "ground".  The controls I need from the laptop are at minimum focus, zoom, and shutter (take picture). I remember that canon used to have its own software to A 500's and 600's. Do you know if any of the more modern compacts that have proprietary software that allow control by wire (or wireless)?

mcbroomf:
I may be wrong but I don't think LRC will offer Zoom control.  I think you'll have to do this through the camera supplier remote interface.