Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Can a stock PhaseOne IQ4 shoot infrared  (Read 1111 times)

CMAmuseumbrich4d

Can a stock PhaseOne IQ4 shoot infrared
« on: June 15, 2023, 04:47:01 pm »

I am wondering if the stock Phase One IQ4 can shoot infrared with a set of filters. I am not asking about the Achromatic. Thanks,

Doug Peterson

• http://www.doug-peterson.com
Re: Can a stock PhaseOne IQ4 shoot infrared
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2023, 10:06:10 am »

I am wondering if the stock Phase One IQ4 can shoot infrared with a set of filters. I am not asking about the Achromatic. Thanks,

Hi, I have a lot of experience with this in a heritage context. Glad to speak with you about it. Or maybe you’ll be at IS&T this week?

Short answer: without the IR filter modified an IQ4 (color) can shoot IR but you need a ton of visible cut or you need a narrow IR output light source, and your exposure will be *several* stops (5+) longer than otherwise. With the IR filter removed it’s excellent at IR, especially longer band where all three channels respond very similar.

Achromatic of course remains the best possible option if budget and use case can justify.

Doug (DT)

Smoothjazz

« Reply #2 on: January 19, 2024, 12:37:01 am »

Doug,
What type of filter would you be using on a normal (non-modified) Phase IQ4 digital back?
Thanks,

John

yaya

• http://yayapro.com
« Reply #3 on: February 06, 2024, 03:41:33 pm »

Doug,
What type of filter would you be using on a normal (non-modified) Phase IQ4 digital back?
Thanks,

John

A normal RGB IQ4 back has an IR-UV cut filter in front of the sensor so you're not able to see NIR.

BR

Yair
Yair Shahar | Product Manager | Phase One - Cultural Heritage
e: ysh@phaseone.com |

Doug Peterson

• http://www.doug-peterson.com
« Reply #4 on: February 14, 2024, 08:51:15 am »

A normal RGB IQ4 back has an IR-UV cut filter in front of the sensor so you're not able to see NIR.

BR

Yair

Yair you may have missed my reply above to which he was responding.