Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Epson 7890 --old ink questions  (Read 423 times)

Dave Gurtcheff

Epson 7890 --old ink questions
« on: April 16, 2023, 05:21:35 pm »

Hello folks. I am an 86 year Amateur that used to sell my framed seascape prints to feed the habit. I have not used my 7890 in quite a while as the Pandemic really screwed up my little side business (we live in a summer resort area). I have to make a big 24"x32" matted and framed print as a donation to our local Maritime Museum Fund Raiser. When I fired up the printer and tried to print out a test print nozzle check, it came out blank (not good news). The printer showed a warning that one ink was empty. I checked and I had a spare 150ml cartridge. I had mistakenly cut open the sealed plastic wrap, some months ago,  then realized my error, and taped the bag shut. When I put this in my printer I got an "X" warning that said "cartridge error" . I assume this must mean the ink in the opened cartridge partially dried up. I did remove and shake it, and replace several times. I tried to run a nozzle clean again several times, and still get low ink warnings on three other colors, plus the "X" bad cartridge warning. I ordered a brand new cartridge for that color (LLK), and ordered the three other colors from ebay that are factory sealed and boxed but out of date at a low price. My thought process is I will waste a lot of ink running multiple nozzle cleaning sessions, so why waste new ink? Once everything is up and running I will probably get brand new inks. Every time in the past that I have had to run multiple nozzle cleanings I make a resolution to print a nozzle check pattern weekly, but I never do. To make matters worse we live on a barrier island, bay front, and we have a lot of damp salt air conditions. I guess I am looking for advice (other than scolding me for letting it go so long between nozzle checks). Thanks and be kind to an old man. TIA.
Dave Gurtcheff
Beach Haven, NJ
web site to see what I do: