Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: What can ACR do that LR can't?  (Read 426 times)

texshooter

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 562
What can ACR do that LR can't?
« on: August 06, 2022, 12:46:23 pm »

Is there anything that Adobe Camera Raw can do that Lightroom Classic cannot?
Logged

digitaldog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19882
  • Andrew Rodney
    • http://www.digitaldog.net/
Re: What can ACR do that LR can't?
« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2022, 01:03:43 pm »

More like the other way around.
If on version parity, offhand, I can't think of anything ACR can do that LR can't other than how a raw can be hosted; ACR can host Bridge and Photoshop, LR uses it's DAM/Catalog.
Logged
Author “Color Management for Photographers" & "Photoshop CC Color Management" on pluralsight.com

fdisilvestro

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1777
    • Frank Disilvestro
Re: What can ACR do that LR can't?
« Reply #2 on: August 06, 2022, 05:18:31 pm »

When using "Edit in" an external editor, LR allows only 4 ICC profiles to chose from (Prophoto RGB, AdobeRGB(1988), sRGB or Display P3), and the histogram is based on the internal working profile regardless of what you choose.
If you want to output files using any another profile, you have to export first, and still you can select only RGB profiles.

In ACR you can choose any ICC profile, and the histogram reflects the output in that profile (yes, it will show CMYK values for CMYK profiles). This can be a difference if you use profiles such as CMYK or the Joseph Holmes ones)

digitaldog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19882
  • Andrew Rodney
    • http://www.digitaldog.net/
Re: What can ACR do that LR can't?
« Reply #3 on: August 06, 2022, 05:36:05 pm »

When using "Edit in" an external editor, LR allows only 4 ICC profiles to chose from (Prophoto RGB, AdobeRGB(1988), sRGB or Display P3), and the histogram is based on the internal working profile regardless of what you choose.
When you use the Edit in Photoshop command in LR, ACR is doing all the raw rendering with the four profile options.
I'm not sure how any raw file can be processed otherwise from any 'external editor' since only LR and ACR understand the proprietary parametric raw edits. With non-raw files, well they are already in a rendered color space.
No limitations or a difference with ACR in reality.

Quote
In ACR you can choose any ICC profile, and the histogram reflects the output in that profile
Same in LR; just soft proof (type S key) and pick the profile you wish. The Histogram and numbers now reflect that profile.
No limitations or a difference with ACR in reality.
Logged
Author “Color Management for Photographers" & "Photoshop CC Color Management" on pluralsight.com

fdisilvestro

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1777
    • Frank Disilvestro
Re: What can ACR do that LR can't?
« Reply #4 on: August 06, 2022, 06:52:29 pm »


Same in LR; just soft proof (type S key) and pick the profile you wish. The Histogram and numbers now reflect that profile.
No limitations or a difference with ACR in reality.

Please explain how to softproof to an CMYK profile in LR or export an image with an CYMK profile

digitaldog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19882
  • Andrew Rodney
    • http://www.digitaldog.net/
Re: What can ACR do that LR can't?
« Reply #5 on: August 06, 2022, 07:01:41 pm »

Please explain how to softproof to an CMYK profile in LR or export an image with an CYMK profile
There is no CMYK anything in the ACR engine that LR uses.
There were older versions of LR that did soft proof and convert to CMYK, they were removed (for good reason).
There is CMYK in Photoshop, however, which can convert to CMYK from ACR.
I have no idea why anyone would even think of doing this directly from raw data to CMYK and neither did the LR team (for good reason).
Hopefully, you'll note that in ACR, there is no CMYK numbers either but sure, soft proof.  ;)

Edit In External editor doesn't limit any RGB conversions unless you apply a parametric edit in LR. You can open an RGB document in an RGB color space that isn't listed in the preferences so, if its in ColorMatch RGB and you simply ask to open in that external editor, LR simply hands of ColorMatch RGB. Unlike what you suggested, when using "Edit in" an external editor, LR allows any RGB profiles to be honored UNLESS you apply proprietary, parametric edits just like it would with raw.
Logged
Author “Color Management for Photographers" & "Photoshop CC Color Management" on pluralsight.com

fdisilvestro

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1777
    • Frank Disilvestro
Re: What can ACR do that LR can't?
« Reply #6 on: August 06, 2022, 07:14:13 pm »

in ACR, there is no CMYK numbers either but sure, soft proof.  ;)


See attached image

Now, try to open a raw file as a smart object in PS from LR with a profile different than Prophoto RGB, Adobe RGB(1988), sRGB or Display P3.

digitaldog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19882
  • Andrew Rodney
    • http://www.digitaldog.net/
Re: What can ACR do that LR can't?
« Reply #7 on: August 06, 2022, 07:21:00 pm »

Now, try to open a raw file as a smart object in PS from LR with a profile different than Prophoto RGB, Adobe RGB(1988), sRGB or Display P3.

There is CMYK in Photoshop, however, which can convert to CMYK from ACR.
I have no idea why anyone would even think of doing this directly from raw data to CMYK and neither did the LR team (for good reason).

There were older versions of LR that did soft proof and convert to CMYK, they were removed (for good reason).
« Last Edit: August 06, 2022, 07:28:57 pm by digitaldog »
Logged
Author “Color Management for Photographers" & "Photoshop CC Color Management" on pluralsight.com

fdisilvestro

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1777
    • Frank Disilvestro
Re: What can ACR do that LR can't?
« Reply #8 on: August 06, 2022, 07:34:20 pm »

Is there anything that Adobe Camera Raw can do that Lightroom Classic cannot?

This was the original question. There is something that can be done in ACR that cannot be done in LR. Maybe it is wrong, or not useful.
I rest my case

digitaldog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19882
  • Andrew Rodney
    • http://www.digitaldog.net/
Re: What can ACR do that LR can't?
« Reply #9 on: August 06, 2022, 07:45:31 pm »

Is there anything that Adobe Camera Raw can do that Lightroom Classic cannot?

This was the original question. There is something that can be done in ACR that cannot be done in LR. Maybe it is wrong, or not useful.
I rest my case

Not much of a case; ACR can open a raw without having to import it into a catalog first.
One can host ACR and Bridge at the same time; can't do that in LR either. BFD.
Now, want to start a list of all the actually useful functionality LR provides ACR doesn't? It's far longer than the one's you and I have come up! There is lots that can be done in LR that cannot be done in ACR. But the OP didn't ask what he can't do in ACR he could do in LR.
I rest my case.
Logged
Author “Color Management for Photographers" & "Photoshop CC Color Management" on pluralsight.com

texshooter

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 562
Re: What can ACR do that LR can't?
« Reply #10 on: August 07, 2022, 10:39:24 am »

I decided to join the herd and learn Lightroom. I'm sure it's come a long way since 2.0. I just wanted to make sure I won't be limited functionally with respect to smart objects, color spaces, interacting with Photoshop, speed of use, etc.
« Last Edit: August 07, 2022, 04:10:05 pm by texshooter »
Logged

Arlen

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1537
Re: What can ACR do that LR can't?
« Reply #11 on: August 07, 2022, 03:33:50 pm »

For my use, the History panel in LR's Develop module is the one huge advantage over ACR. I still use ACR quite a bit, especially as a filter, but I find the lack of a history list there--to easily go back and forth between edit steps--to be a big disadvantage. I wish they would implement that in ACR.
Logged

jrsforums

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1225
Re: What can ACR do that LR can't?
« Reply #12 on: August 07, 2022, 03:44:54 pm »

For my use, the History panel in LR's Develop module is the one huge advantage over ACR. I still use ACR quite a bit, especially as a filter, but I find the lack of a history list there--to easily go back and forth between edit steps--to be a big disadvantage. I wish they would implement that in ACR.

I believe (could be wrong) the history data is stored in the LR catalog, not metadata.  If that’s the case, be difficult to implement in ACR
Logged
John

digitaldog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19882
  • Andrew Rodney
    • http://www.digitaldog.net/
Re: What can ACR do that LR can't?
« Reply #13 on: August 07, 2022, 03:47:22 pm »

I believe (could be wrong) the history data is stored in the LR catalog, not metadata.  If that’s the case, be difficult to implement in ACR
You are correct on both. Ditto for Virtual copies and Proof copies; but tremendously useful for LR users that ACR can't provide.
Logged
Author “Color Management for Photographers" & "Photoshop CC Color Management" on pluralsight.com

Arlen

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1537
Re: What can ACR do that LR can't?
« Reply #14 on: August 07, 2022, 04:04:05 pm »

but tremendously useful for LR users that ACR can't provide.

A really huge advantage. Whenever I'm processing something in ACR, I feel like I have one hand tied behind my back.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up