Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: LR 10.1.1 slow to open, slow to zoom  (Read 737 times)

rebadurchee

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 52
LR 10.1.1 slow to open, slow to zoom
« on: February 22, 2021, 10:04:34 am »

In the last several weeks LR has exhibited some disturbing performance issues.  I'm on Win 10 with a custom rig, very fast otherwise.  LR takes anywhere between 1 and 3 minutes to open; time enough to check email.  Sometimes the loading pausing mid-load with the images are showing with no information at top or bottom.  If I click on the image LR freezes and shows 'non-responsive' for 30 seconds to a minute or so and then finally loads and is ready to use.

Once I get in the zoom in feature is almost unusable.  After I click on the image it takes from 5-10 seconds to zoom in. At that point I don't get the "Loading..." message but the image is very fuzzy.  If I repeat the process the image then clears up.  Sometimes I get the "Loading..." message and sometimes not, and sometimes it stays on continuously even if I'm in grid mode and not trying to zoom in on an image.

Anyone else experiencing issues like these?  Any suggestions?
Logged

digitaldog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19213
  • Andrew Rodney
    • http://www.digitaldog.net/
Re: LR 10.1.1 slow to open, slow to zoom
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2021, 10:28:08 am »

First thing to try is reset preferences: https://helpx.adobe.com/lightroom-classic/help/setting-preferences-lightroom.html
If you disable GPU in preferences, better, worse?
Logged
Author “Color Management for Photographers" & "Photoshop CC Color Management" on pluralsight.com

rebadurchee

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 52
Re: LR 10.1.1 slow to open, slow to zoom
« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2021, 03:22:28 pm »

Thanks for replying.  I did turn off CPU processing with no change in LR's behavior.
Logged

JRSmit

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 916
    • Jan R. Smit Fine Art Printing Specialist
Re: LR 10.1.1 slow to open, slow to zoom
« Reply #3 on: February 22, 2021, 04:01:29 pm »

Did you optimize your catalog?
Did you change a printer driver?
Perhaps your agprefs file is corrupt.
Stop LR , rename it and start LR again.
Logged
Fine art photography: janrsmit.com
Fine Art Printing Specialist: www.fineartprintingspecialist.nl


Jan R. Smit

JRSmit

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 916
    • Jan R. Smit Fine Art Printing Specialist
Re: LR 10.1.1 slow to open, slow to zoom
« Reply #4 on: February 22, 2021, 04:03:54 pm »

Forgot to ask, is the drive on which LR catalog resides full or close to?

Logged
Fine art photography: janrsmit.com
Fine Art Printing Specialist: www.fineartprintingspecialist.nl


Jan R. Smit

nemophoto

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 957
    • Nemo Niemann Photography
Re: LR 10.1.1 slow to open, slow to zoom
« Reply #5 on: February 22, 2021, 10:12:59 pm »

I feel your pain! I have found the latest versions of LR and PS to lack responsiveness. (I've posted about how bad the latest version of PS is to pan an images. I feel the same underlying code issues are going on with LR.)

These are a few things I do to try to alleviate some of the issues. You may already do them.
* Use a separate SSD as a scratch disk
*Rather than one gigantic catalog, create smaller ones for specific categories. For instance, I have an LR catalog for travel. I have one for my portfolio images. Each of my jobs has it's own catalog. (Those jobs can run 500-700GB, so I only import my RAW Selects and catalog those plus final RGB images I create.) This will load the catalogs much faster. However, if you have not viewed them in a while, LR may re-render the previews. I too have found that even a smallish catalog I used a week before ends up with initially blurry previews.
Logged

jrsforums

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1221
Re: LR 10.1.1 slow to open, slow to zoom
« Reply #6 on: February 23, 2021, 11:14:25 am »

I feel your pain! I have found the latest versions of LR and PS to lack responsiveness. (I've posted about how bad the latest version of PS is to pan an images. I feel the same underlying code issues are going on with LR.)

These are a few things I do to try to alleviate some of the issues. You may already do them.
* Use a separate SSD as a scratch disk
*Rather than one gigantic catalog, create smaller ones for specific categories. For instance, I have an LR catalog for travel. I have one for my portfolio images. Each of my jobs has it's own catalog. (Those jobs can run 500-700GB, so I only import my RAW Selects and catalog those plus final RGB images I create.) This will load the catalogs much faster. However, if you have not viewed them in a while, LR may re-render the previews. I too have found that even a smallish catalog I used a week before ends up with initially blurry previews.

I do not believe LR uses a ‘scratch disk’.  Possibly you meant putting the catalog and raw cache on SSD.

In my view, individual catalogs destroy one of the main benefits of LR.  If your doing this, you might as well just use PS & ACR, with no need for catalogs at all.
Logged
John

nemophoto

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 957
    • Nemo Niemann Photography
Re: LR 10.1.1 slow to open, slow to zoom
« Reply #7 on: February 23, 2021, 11:49:41 am »

Yes, sorry, I mistyped. The cache, not scratch disk. In operation, it is some of the same for some functions, as it was explained to me by Adobe at PhotoExpo a number of years ago. I have my PS scratch disk on an SSD, but I don't feel it helps that much. Jut now I opened a catalog I had most recently opened a couple days ago. Slow to load.

But arguing in favor of separate catalogs, I see a major performance difference plus I'm not putting all my eggs in one basket, as they say. I have shot digitally since 2000 and exclusively since 2001 when the EOS 1D was introduced. I've had my fair share of lost images, corruption, near total failures. I have no desire to keep tens of thousands or more images in one database/catalog -- even if it backs itself up.

For my work and workflow, I have no desire to keep every one of the 77,000 frames I shot on a recent shoot in a Lightroom catalog. I can, and have, pulled images from shoots and stuck them in folders I use for portfolios. For those jobs, I'd rather using a simple, quick browsing program that allows me to find the images the clients wants me to work on and move them to a RAW Selects folder which I then use ion LR.

My fine art/personal/travel work is different. It only holds about 8,000 images (RAW, TIFF, PSD), and there the cataloging is perfect. It all depends on what you shoot, how you shoot, and what you feel deserves to be a "keeper" and readily available. And for that reason, I do use other RAW programs (ACR, DxO) if I don't want something cataloged. I use Capture 1, but I hate that they have now decided to try to get into the "catalog" scene. Same for On1 Photo RAW, though it's possible to work around the cataloging function in both cases.
Logged

JRSmit

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 916
    • Jan R. Smit Fine Art Printing Specialist
Re: LR 10.1.1 slow to open, slow to zoom
« Reply #8 on: February 23, 2021, 02:13:23 pm »

The only  cause of database corruption i found out are a disk that is full. Either the disk holding the catalog or the system disk causing the system to crash.
Logged
Fine art photography: janrsmit.com
Fine Art Printing Specialist: www.fineartprintingspecialist.nl


Jan R. Smit

nemophoto

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 957
    • Nemo Niemann Photography
Re: LR 10.1.1 slow to open, slow to zoom
« Reply #9 on: February 23, 2021, 04:03:33 pm »

Well, that's fortunate. Of course, I go by the old adage of computers:

There are two types of computer users: those who have lost data and those who will lose data.

I have had several catalogs become corrupt, and not because of "disk full". But, I had backups. On shoots, I have three copies at all times: my laptop, my external drive and the client's external drive. I have had more than one instance where a drive had to be reformatted and repopulated with images.

Call me paranoid.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up