Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Lamination for posters (photopaper).  (Read 407 times)

smikkelmit22

Lamination for posters (photopaper).
« on: December 26, 2020, 02:51:28 pm »

Hi all,

I have a question regarding the lamination of posters. I always use pigment printers (Epson) and in the past i have created a few posters.

On the eye they were beautiful. Stunning colors. But i remember they were very vulnerable, as most of the times with pigment inks. This is no big deal, because i thinking of laminating them.

But i have little knowledge of laminating posters. A few questions come to mind.

1. Should i use a hot or cold laminator? Which version gives the best result on poster paper.
2. What kind of paper should be used. Personally i love a satin paper. I'm wondering, what kind of laminate should be use while using satin paper. I don't want to over gloss/shine it.

Hope you guys can provide me some information. If you have any other good advice, good experience I'm happy to hear all about it!

**edit**

I also have a liquid laminator, i think I'm going to try it and see what happens.

arobinson7547

Re: Lamination for posters (photopaper).
« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2020, 07:09:57 am »

Which liquid laminator do you have? I think that would be the way to go. No risk of Peeling or bubbles or silvering.
You can also choose matte, semi gloss, or gloss liquid. I've seen some mix them to get their desired gloss level.

I know some of the liquid laminators use a different type bar for smooth photo type surfaces

smikkelmit22

« Reply #2 on: December 27, 2020, 08:48:40 am »

I have a marabu starlam 1600r.

With it I have to types (thicknesses) of meyerbar, nr18 and nr 22 i believe.

I'm not completely confident it will work. There are two concerns, one is to much tension. It's possibly the paper will rip apart. Although paper is pretty strong. But just a thought.