Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Phase One - LCC and Dark Frame - Best practices?  (Read 1742 times)

peterm10

Phase One - LCC and Dark Frame - Best practices?
« on: November 22, 2020, 10:40:27 am »

Hi.  I am new to using my IQ3 100 and Cambo tech cam, and I am wondering how people approach dark frames and LCCs from a practical perspective?  I am not shooting super long or night exposures. 

LCC: As an example, I wanted to set up a library of user presets of LCCs.  I set up my gear outside on a sunny day, shot at f/8 with infinity focus on my Rodenstock at 0 shift, and then +/- 5, 10, 15 up and down, at about 2 stops brighter than normal using the LCC plate, and then created LCCs in Capture One for each one.  Then I saved each LCC as a user preset which I can apply when shooting with those shifts in similar conditions at f/8.  Is this correct?  (I'm not using tilt/swing).  Am I supposed to do this again for different f stops in different lighting conditions?   

Or do you do a LCC everytime you shoot for each different f stops, shifts, etc.?  And you record each time you shift and how much on a notepad or phone or something for later reference?  Do you find you need a LCC when not shifting at all?

Dark Frames: Which setting do you use and why? I have been shooting at less than a second, so I have been keeping it set to "off" or "never" although it still records a dark frame automatically at the start of each session or when I change shutter speed settings.

Thanks!

Peter

Paul2660

• Photos of Arkansas
Re: Phase One - LCC and Dark Frame - Best practices?
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2020, 06:37:04 pm »

3100 will require a dark frame as I recall on any image taken at longer than 1 second.  You really can't get around that.  Back will ask for 1 each time, and you need to take it immediately after the previous exposure.  The dark frame recorded is then applied to the previous image in the back, you do anything in post.