Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Canvas weave "slant"  (Read 633 times)

mcbroomf

• Mike Broomfield
Canvas weave "slant"
« on: October 24, 2020, 08:33:56 am »

I'm fairly new to canvas and linen printing, and not selling prints professionally so my throughput is low.  I just loaded and made a 1st print on a new 44" roll of Epson Canvas Exhibition Matt and the weave is (the best way I can describe it) slanted.  In every other roll of canvas or linen I've printed on (admittedly only 1/2 a dozen or so) the weave has been perfectly parallel to the edge of the print. On this print if I follow a single weave, over 24" it's offset by 2".  This is pretty significant and it was immediately obvious when I looked at the print.  It looks very weird to me.

I do plan to call Epson on Monday to see what they say.  I wondered if this is abnormal, ie a defective roll?  Anyone seen this before? 

Thanks

Mike

mcbroomf

• Mike Broomfield
Re: Canvas weave "slant"
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2020, 08:46:16 am »

I should also add that I have double checked the load and tension of the roll.  Both OK so the printer does not seem to be the cause.  Final nail for the roll is that I rescued the very 1st piece off the roll from the bin.  It was a nozzle check after a PK-MK switch and it shows the same slant at both leading and cut edges.

mearussi

« Reply #2 on: October 24, 2020, 09:34:05 am »

I'm fairly new to canvas and linen printing, and not selling prints professionally so my throughput is low.  I just loaded and made a 1st print on a new 44" roll of Epson Canvas Exhibition Matt and the weave is (the best way I can describe it) slanted.  In every other roll of canvas or linen I've printed on (admittedly only 1/2 a dozen or so) the weave has been perfectly parallel to the edge of the print. On this print if I follow a single weave, over 24" it's offset by 2".  This is pretty significant and it was immediately obvious when I looked at the print.  It looks very weird to me.