Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Epson 3880 Black Ink leakage  (Read 401 times)

pflower

Epson 3880 Black Ink leakage
« on: September 25, 2020, 01:49:48 pm »

It suddenly occurred to me that I had been using my 3880 exclusively for Matte prints for the past 6 months.  So I thought it a good idea (if possibly a bit belated) to change to Photo Black ink and run a couple of prints through it.

The Photo Black cartridge had been sitting idle in the machine for the past 6 month and was nearly empty.  A nozzle check came back with the PK box completely missing.  I put a new cartridge in and ran a power clean.  After that a nozzle check showed all lines properly printed across all inks.  However a print looks OK but there is a large amount of black ink - still wet - along the long borders running down.

Any ideas on what the problem is and how to resolve it?  In case it makes any difference the maintenance cartridge is showing 72% capacity.

Thanks

Alan Goldhammer

• A Goldhammer Photography
Re: Epson 3880 Black Ink leakage
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2020, 02:28:47 pm »

Seems to me that the switch valve is failing or has failed.  From what you describe, it is the same problem that consigned my 3880 to the junk yard last year.  If you switch back to MK, the ink blobs should go away at least this is what I saw.  However, I needed to be able to print from both inksets.

Jeffrey Saldinger

• Jeffrey Saldinger
« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2020, 02:46:07 pm »

Recommendations about frequency of switching for the P800 are addressed here:

https://forum.luminous-landscape.com/index.php?topic=114096.0

I don't know whether the switching technology for the P800 is the the same as for the 3880. I do a MK to PK back to MK switch once a week  (I'm printing mostly on matte papers right now).

Jeffrey
Astoria, New York
www.jeffreysaldinger.com

pflower

« Reply #3 on: September 25, 2020, 03:26:05 pm »