Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Digital negative questions. What is the resolution bottleneck?  (Read 773 times)

Alex W

Hi folks,
Being a photographer by trade I'm going to be pretty quite this year. I've always loved alternative process and contact printing but really enjoy the flexibility of a digital camera. It seems like with digital negatives I can have my cake and eat it too!

I have a couple of basic questions.
I own an Epson P600 and will upgrade to the P700 where you no longer need to swap in the black inkset apparently. Is this Epson monochrome ink set good enough to print high quality digital negs for 8x10 contact printing or do i need to investigate all the other options like Piezo?

I use a Nikon D850 for work and am currently looking at both the Fuji GFX and Z systems. Assuming that the next Z gets the 61mp sensor from Sony which is simply scaled up to the 100MP GFX sensor, will i get the same negative printing good files from either cam? Is the limiting factor of the final 8x10 the paper, the printer or the camera?

ColourPhil

• Colour Management by Phil Cruse
Re: Digital negative questions. What is the resolution bottleneck?
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2020, 04:06:51 am »

I think that the Black inks are changing for the P700/900. Epson are claiming a higher D-max, and some kind of 'overprinting' technology.
Cheers,
Phil

nirpat89

• Photography by Niranjan Patel
« Reply #2 on: March 31, 2020, 10:20:17 am »

Are you planning to do commercially available silver gelatin or hand coated processes like platinum, gum etc.  Either way though for 8x10, all of the cameras cited would be more than sufficient if not an overkill.