Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Canon Pro-1000 Black & White Printing  (Read 1002 times)

Gusto5

Canon Pro-1000 Black & White Printing
« on: August 29, 2019, 12:56:53 pm »

I am new to the Canon Pro-1000 and to photo inkjet printing.
I'm currently focussed on exclusively printing black & white photos.

I have been printing from inside Photoshop (CS6 - Mac 10.13) using Print Studio Pro.
I've made BxW prints using the Color Mode Black & White setting inside PSP and using the Color Mode ICC profile.
I select the Media Type based on the info provided on the photo paper websites where they offer ICC profiles.
I've found the prints made using the Color Mode BxW setting have less tone, or at least do not print with as warm a tone as prints made using the ICC profiles. This is for papers that are commonly regarded as having a slightly warm tone.
For example printing on Ilford Gold Fibre Silk and Canson Platine Fibre Rag. 
I don't notice a difference between the presence of differential gloss and bronzing between the 2 approaches (color mode: BxW vs ICC).

My questions:
Which color mode setting do you use on your Canon Pro-1000 when making BxW prints?
Are there times you use Color Mode BxW and times you use ICC profile, and if so why?
Or would you suggest not using Print Studio Pro and print using a different Print program?

Edwin

Alan Goldhammer

• A Goldhammer Photography
Re: Canon Pro-1000 Black & White Printing
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2019, 01:40:23 pm »

I can only answer for myself.  I print B/W using the standard color managed approach.  I do my own profiling and include a B/W patch set to insure that the profiles I create have a good response.  All my printing is done with Adobe LR.  Using the ICC profile I create allows me to soft proof B/W images.

Alan

David Sutton

• David Sutton Photography
« Reply #2 on: August 29, 2019, 05:20:23 pm »