Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Best practices for archival printing and framing?  (Read 1427 times)

mearussi

Best practices for archival printing and framing?
« on: July 27, 2019, 07:07:42 pm »

So far this is my best understanding:

1. paper--100% cotton, no OBAs, no TiO2, with a light coating of spray varnish (from Hahnemuhle, Moab,
 or Premier Art only) to seal the micropores

2. ink--OEM only, preferably rated for 200+ years

3. glass--colorless framing glass (or acrylic) with a UV coating (but not so much as to add a yellowish tint), AR Museum would also be nice but is spendy

4. mat board and backing board--should be 100% cotton and alkaline buffered

5. mounting the print--so far outside of just hanging it (which causes it to buckle) I know of no archival way. Do you?

5. frame--only metal is truly archival as all wood out gasses to some extent

This is the best information I've gathered over the last few years. I'm relatively new at this so if I've missed something or have something wrong please let me know.

Thanks

« Last Edit: July 27, 2019, 07:18:51 pm by mearussi »

Eric Brody

• http://www.ericbrodyphoto.com
Re: Best practices for archival printing and framing?
« Reply #1 on: July 29, 2019, 11:34:53 am »

i agree with your thoughts on this, but hopefully without meaning to hijack the thread, would ask the question "why worry?"

I have been helping the family of a dear friend who just passed away. He had boxes of lovely archivally processed silver gelatin matted 16x20 prints. He was an excellent but not well known photographer. I'm sure these prints will last for millennia. I know his technique was meticulous. What to do with all these images? The question even arose with prints he had purchased. Many were by top notch photographers we'd all recognize but were not always their "famous" work.