Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Is there a way to adapt a firewire cable to a thunderbolt 3? (Hasselblad tether)  (Read 1435 times)

darkostoj

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11

Hey guys, just bought a new laptop that has the usb-c thunderbolt 3 ports and wanted to hook the H5D up to it for tethered shooting.

I looked around for adapters, but didn't see anything. 

I have the Hasselblad firewire 800/800 cable and another universal 800/400 (I shaved it down to fit in the camera)

Thanks!
Logged

Paul Roark

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 398

I had the problem of connecting a PC that only had USB to Firewire only Nikon 8000 scanner.   There did not seem to be any adapters.  It looked like a computer with a Thunderbolt port might be my best route.  There is a fairly cheap Lenovo 730 that has Thunderbolt.  I found that via two adapters, I could make the wires all appeared to connect that PC/laptop to the scanner.  In fact, however, the Thunderbolt equipped Lenovo computer still could not "see" or communicate with the Firewire scanner.  So, I now have an excellent Nikon 8000 scanner that is useless.  Luckily, I've found a way to access my large collection of medium format negatives via an "old school" enlarger stand, Sony a7rii and series L Canon 100mm macro lens.  It's a bit of a kluge, but the final files are as good as the Nikon 8000 files.

Paul
www.PaulRoark.com 
« Last Edit: February 20, 2019, 01:18:47 pm by Paul Roark »
Logged

darkostoj

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11

Try this dock, or google for others
https://appleinsider.com/articles/17/05/14/review---owc-thunderbolt-3-dock-is-the-only-game-in-town-for-firewire-800

Thanks!

I'm happy to know that something exists, because I was starting to worry that there was nothing available.

Now, on to try and find one for less than the $300 price the OWC model is fetching.
Logged

darkostoj

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11

https://www.ebay.com/itm/AKiTiO-Thunderbolt-2-USB-3-0-FireWire-Thunder2-Dock-T2D-THSB3IAS-AKTU-Free-Ship-/323645313403?_trksid=p2349526.m4383.l4275.c10#viTabs_0

I thought I saw one for $90 used, can't find it now

I've been doing a lot of searching online and it seems as though the OWC model with the firewire 800 port is a bit rare, I can't even find one to buy anywhere.  There are lots of variants available, but they don't have the firewire port.

The model with the firewire port is discontinued. https://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/controller/home?O=productlist.jsp&A=details&Q=&sku=1297798&is=REG&fromDisList=y
Logged

mcbroomf

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1044
    • Mike Broomfield

Yes, looks like that is true.  The one I linked to above is an older Thunderbolt 2 but should work OK.  I don't know if there would be a difference in performance between TB2 and TB3 to a tethered camera.

This is the used one I found before
https://www.ebay.com/i/202602206897?chn=ps

EDIT : Buyer beware  :)
Officially, Windows is not supported but the docking station can be used on a Windows computer as long as the Thunderbolt cable is connected to the computer before the system is booted up and it is never disconnected while the system is running.
Also, make sure that both the AKiTiO Thunder2 Dock and all the devices that are attached to the dock are turned on before starting up the system.
« Last Edit: February 20, 2019, 02:59:31 pm by mcbroomf »
Logged

BobShaw

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1844
    • Aspiration Images

This question was discussed extensively in another post on the Medium format group from memory.
Basically there are Thunderbolt 3 to Thunderbolt 2 Adaptors and Thunderbolt 2 to Firewire Adaptors from Apple.
However they don't necessarily work on Windows computers.
USB3 is also not necessarily Thunderbolt 3 on a Windows PC. There are significant technical differences.

Probably your best and cheapest option is to buy an old MacBook Pro for the purpose. I sold two at $100 and $350 on eBay recently. They were Mid 2010 models but both worked. You would need at least 8GB RAM. I only sold them because I bought a camera with USB-C and needed to up the speed from USB2 as I could not use the Firewire port with the new camera. I just bought a basic MacBook Air for that. I don't edit on the laptop though, just capture the images. I use a 27" to work on images.
Logged
Website - http://AspirationImages.com
Fine Art Photography

darkostoj

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11

I found these and the seller did verify they come with the Firewire 800 port. I think I may give it a shot.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/264197202584?ul_noapp=true
Logged

BobShaw

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1844
    • Aspiration Images

How does this help? It does not appear to have a Firewire port and still requires a Thunderbolt 3 port on the computer.
If you have a Thunderbolt 3 port then the basic adaptors may work.
Logged
Website - http://AspirationImages.com
Fine Art Photography

mcbroomf

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1044
    • Mike Broomfield

The link goes to a different part now that it's sold.  It originally went to one of these which does have FW.
https://www.amazon.com/OWC-Port-Thunderbolt-Dock-Space/dp/B01N51P3BB
Logged

darkostoj

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11

The link goes to a different part now that it's sold.  It originally went to one of these which does have FW.
https://www.amazon.com/OWC-Port-Thunderbolt-Dock-Space/dp/B01N51P3BB

That seller had 5 available when I posted and I was going to buy one when I got home from work.  When I got home a few hours later, they were all sold!
Logged

Joe Towner

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1225

AKiTiO Thunder Dock may work for you - doing a TB3-TB2 adapter then a https://www.akitio.com/adapters/thunder-dock - disclaimer must be connected before booting in Windows.

Just make sure it's a TB3 port and not a USB-C port - the first will work, while the second won't.
Logged
t: @PNWMF

paulla

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11

This is why I never upgraded my Mid 2011 MacBook to a newer laptop. In fact, I just used my even older MacBook to run the old Phocus software to shoot with an older 132C back. I have a new laptop on the way, but not looking forward to having to try and get my CFV connected to it. I'll be watching this thread to see if you got it worked out.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up