Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Mirrorless Behavior Under Continuous Autofocus (X-T3, but cross-brand question)  (Read 779 times)

ejkrouse

• Pawww Snap! Pet Photography by Eric Krouse

Due to increased requests for video (and a little bit of curiosity I suppose), I recently made the switch from Nikon DSLR equipment to Fuji, with an X-T3 and 16-55. It's an excellent combo for general still and video work, and has quickly paid for itself with new opportunities. I've had the same "wow that's sharp!" reaction with it as previously felt when I first shot with the Sigma 18-35. I'd buy it all over again just for the blissful electronic shutter silence while capturing timelapses.

My issue with the X-T3, after 5 months of shooting, is how the camera stops the lens down to my selected aperture while focusing in Continuous Mode. I'm a full-time dog photographer, specifically niched down to indoor studio portraits under strobes. AF-S is fine most of the time, and the camera doesn't stop down in AF-S but AF-C would be a godsend to use with high energy subjects. If my preset is 1/250 and f/11, and I half press or attempt back button focus, the camera hunts like crazy while trying to squint through such a small aperture. Reviewing my last session, I'd estimate roughly 30% were out of focus when set to AF-C. Maddening.

My question; is this a Fuji thing, or do all mirrorless cameras have the same behavior of stopping down under continuous autofocus possibly due to On-Sensor Phase Detect?

I'm very fond of the Fuji system and how it just gets out of the way, but if this is a persistent issue, I'll be shopping for a studio specific DSLR.

Thanks for your help!

rdonson

AF-C really should be set up using the "AFC Custom Settings" for best results.  Which setting are you using? 

I use AF-C custom settings with great results for sports. 

AF-C settings
1 - Multi purpose
2 - Ignore obstacles & continue to track subject
3 - For accelerating/decelerating subject