Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Looking for an artistic workshop.  (Read 835 times)

gchappel

Looking for an artistic workshop.
« on: September 24, 2018, 07:21:32 pm »

I have been playing with photography for over 40 years- heavy duty last 15.
I enjoy workshops, and try to take one every year or so.
I find I no longer wish to talk about the equipment- the camera, f stop, shutterspeed, lens selection, DOF, etc. 
I would rather talk about the images.   The art.  The feelings. 
For example, I am looking for strong image critiques.   I do not care if it is my images, or the instructors images that we tear apart, to understand what makes them tick. 
My last several workshops took me to great areas, but did little else.  The discussions were equipment or general composition based. 
I took little home- yes I always learned something but not in the depth I am now searching for.
Jay Maisel workshops were wonderful along these lines, I took several of his.  He is no longer teaching, and I am looking for new opinions and thoughts. 
Thought I would ask here- any ideas or thoughts of how to proceed or who to talk to?  I retire next year- so lots of time.
Thanks
Gary

Slobodan Blagojevic

• When everyone thinks the same, nobody thinks
    • My website
Re: Looking for an artistic workshop.
« Reply #1 on: September 24, 2018, 08:26:36 pm »

Have you checked John Paul Caponigro?

Rob C

« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2018, 06:55:59 am »

I have been playing with photography for over 40 years- heavy duty last 15.
I enjoy workshops, and try to take one every year or so.
I find I no longer wish to talk about the equipment- the camera, f stop, shutterspeed, lens selection, DOF, etc. 
For example, I am looking for strong image critiques.   I do not care if it is my images, or the instructors images that we tear apart, to understand what makes them tick.