Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Storage, DAM, etc... Starting from scratch.  (Read 6492 times)

kielinski

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
    • Kielinski Photographers
Storage, DAM, etc... Starting from scratch.
« on: March 14, 2018, 12:33:44 pm »

If you were to build a multiple user storage and DAM setup right now how would you do it?


Minimum 3 computers connected via ethernet.

NAS solution (I've been looking at Synology and QNAP)

DAM - libraries need to be current and available to all users at any given time.  We are not married to any particular software (currently use Adobe Bridge for browsing but have LR and C1).


Thanks for any input.

digitaldog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 20645
  • Andrew Rodney
    • http://www.digitaldog.net/
Re: Storage, DAM, etc... Starting from scratch.
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2018, 01:57:12 pm »

I don't consider Bridge a DAM, it's a browser. LR, fine although 'available for users at any given time' may be an issue. Have you got a copy of Peter Krogh's "The DAM book"? Must read before doing anything DAM like IMHO.
http://thedambook.com
Logged
http://www.digitaldog.net/
Author "Color Management for Photographers".

DP

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 727
Re: Storage, DAM, etc... Starting from scratch.
« Reply #2 on: March 14, 2018, 03:10:09 pm »

If you were to build a multiple user storage and DAM setup right now how would you do it?


Minimum 3 computers connected via ethernet.

NAS solution (I've been looking at Synology and QNAP)

DAM - libraries need to be current and available to all users at any given time.  We are not married to any particular software (currently use Adobe Bridge for browsing but have LR and C1).


Thanks for any input.

LR (and C1 for that matter) is a primitive desktop grade single user software... if you need really multiuser one look things like http://daminion.net/ or even higher grade
Logged

kielinski

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
    • Kielinski Photographers
Re: Storage, DAM, etc... Starting from scratch.
« Reply #3 on: March 15, 2018, 11:17:48 am »

LR (and C1 for that matter) is a primitive desktop grade single user software... if you need really multiuser one look things like http://daminion.net/ or even higher grade

Thanks, that software looks really promising.  $175/month is a figure that'd take some getting used to, though.


I'm pretty sure I read through the DAM Book years ago.  I remember it as a LR How-To guide rather than offering any networked solutions.

I've been tooling along the past couple of years without paying much attention to the storage/database aspect of things.  I was really hoping something would have popped up to fill the apparent void...

DP

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 727
Re: Storage, DAM, etc... Starting from scratch.
« Reply #4 on: March 15, 2018, 12:03:19 pm »

Thanks, that software looks really promising.  $175/month is a figure that'd take some getting used to, though.

was it their quote for small team sized option ? what I mean - I 'd request a quote - may be there is a better deal available say for 3 licenses ?
Logged

BobShaw

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2218
    • Aspiration Images
Re: Storage, DAM, etc... Starting from scratch.
« Reply #5 on: March 15, 2018, 10:23:46 pm »

If you were to build a multiple user storage and DAM setup right now how would you do it?
Minimum 3 computers connected via ethernet.
Thanks for any input.
If you are starting now then I don't have a solution. If you find one let me know. (:-)

LR does not work with multiple computers.
C1 does but does not support all cameras and I am yet to be convinced it is a stable DAM.

I use Aperture and it has worked well for me for over 8 years, but as it is end of life you wouldn't pick it to start from.
I use a NAS as a last resort backup but found it too slow for live work. A file server with attached drives is better. NAS = Not A Server.
Logged
Website - http://AspirationImages.com
Studio and Commercial Photography

Joe Towner

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1365
Re: Storage, DAM, etc... Starting from scratch.
« Reply #6 on: March 21, 2018, 01:23:13 pm »

It depends, what's your budget?

Short answer, you'll want a NAS, preferably one that'll hold a lot and can do SSD caching.  Is everyone working off laptops, desktops or both?  Pop over to the computer thread, I've got a chat on 10gbps networking going.

As to DAM itself, you can do a few things, but what other tools are you working with?  Lightroom, CaptureOne, just raw Adobe Photoshop?  Are you doing video in addition to stills?  Are you going on location or more in studio?

Don't under estimate what a good storage structure can do for DAM on it's own.  There are folks who literally build into their budget picking up 2.5" external drives and dedicating it to the customer job.  Then when they are done, the drive goes on the shelf.

-Joe

Logged
t: @PNWMF

budjames

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 956
    • http://www.budjamesphotography.com
Re: Storage, DAM, etc... Starting from scratch.
« Reply #7 on: May 09, 2019, 05:05:30 am »

I tried various products like Connected Data, but settled on Synology about 3 years ago. I have my iMac Pro at home connected via 10gb ethernet to a Synology DS1817 (8-bays) on my home network. The critical files, including a Thunderbolt RAID drive containing my image files, are backed up realtime by the Synology Drive application to the Synology DS unit.

The home LAN file transfer speed, as tested, averages 329 mb/s write and 481 mb/s read on the 10gb LAN connection which operates through a 10GB switch on my network. Not bad for back ups. My Thunderbolt 2 connected OWC ThunderBay 4-bay RAID tests at 457 mb/s write and 533 mb/s read speeds.

The home unit backs up realtime to a Synology DS1817 installed on my office LAN. My office is about 10 miles from my home so no more "sneaker net" to take back up drives off site.

I use enterprise quality 10TB NAS drives from Western Digital on all of the Synology devices. They have been very reliable.

The Synology devices also host my surveillance cameras systems installed at my home and office. They back up the video files to each other, real time, using the free Synology software. It all works very well.

I highly recommend the Synology products for their reliability, capabilities and excellent "human" support.

Regards,
Bud James

Please check out my fine art and travel photography at www.budjames.photography or on Instagram at www.instagram.com/budjamesphoto.
Logged
Bud James
North Wales, PA [url=http://ww

Lightsmith

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 197
Re: Storage, DAM, etc... Starting from scratch.
« Reply #8 on: June 01, 2019, 02:22:02 pm »

Best DAM that does not require a server is iMatch and there are 3 versions depending upon your needs.
Logged

Jeremy Roussak

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8961
    • site
Re: Storage, DAM, etc... Starting from scratch.
« Reply #9 on: June 01, 2019, 02:31:40 pm »

LR does not work with multiple computers.

In what way does it not work with multiple computers? It's not a multi-user application, certainly; but I have no real difficulty in running it on an iMac and a MacBook, with some basic synchronisation tools to keep things in order.

Jeremy
Logged

mdelrossi

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 52
    • http://www.delrossiphotography.com
Re: Storage, DAM, etc... Starting from scratch.
« Reply #10 on: June 11, 2019, 10:36:18 am »

If the OP doesn't have 10Gbe, he could look at Qnap. In particular the Thunderbolt capable units.
I just got the TVS-627XT with 4x 10TB Iron Wolf drives, attached to my thunderbolt2 iMac with a thunderbolt3 to 2 adapter. It also has a 10Gbe along with 2xusbC and 2x 1Gbe, HDMI, and a couple of 3.0 usb thrown in for good measure.
With 4 drives in raid5 I'm gettin north of 500MBs write and reads. If I was to add Nvme cache probably end up around 1000MBs.

I had/have a Synology 1813+ that I have been using for backups. it's really slow with an Atom processor. Then again its a 5 year old box.
The Qnap has an i3 4 core 3.1 Ghz and it really helps.

good luck.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up