Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Love LR workflow, but DPP conversion are better  (Read 19211 times)

budjames

• http://www.budjamesphotography.com
Love LR workflow, but DPP conversion are better
« on: August 13, 2006, 10:10:39 am »

I like LR's workflow compared to Canon DPP 2.1, however, I compared a bunch of RAW conversions of a shoot of cars taken at the New Hope Auto Show with my Canon 1DsMkII and 24-105 f4 L lens.

I set sharpening to zero on both programs. The DPP 2.1 conversions are clearly superior to the LR conversions. The DPP conversions are sharper with richer details (less fixing required in PS CS2).

I'm sure that I'll get flamed here, but as a serious amateur, I want to take pictures and get the best quality output without becoming a computer scientist.
Before the LR Windows beta was released, I did my own comparisons between ACR, DPP 2.1 and C1Pro. DPP provided the best results, followed by C1Pro then ACR.

If I could combine the ease of use of LR with the high quality conversions of DPP, I'd be a happy guy and I'd no longer need C1Pro.

Bud James
Lansdale, PA
« Last Edit: August 13, 2006, 10:13:40 am by budjames »
Bud James
North Wales, PA [url=http://ww

Josh-H

• Wild Nature Photo Travel
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2006, 08:30:53 pm »

I like LR's workflow compared to Canon DPP 2.1, however, I compared a bunch of RAW conversions of a shoot of cars taken at the New Hope Auto Show with my Canon 1DsMkII and 24-105 f4 L lens.

I set sharpening to zero on both programs. The DPP 2.1 conversions are clearly superior to the LR conversions. The DPP conversions are sharper with richer details (less fixing required in PS CS2).

I'm sure that I'll get flamed here, but as a serious amateur, I want to take pictures and get the best quality output without becoming a computer scientist.
Before the LR Windows beta was released, I did my own comparisons between ACR, DPP 2.1 and C1Pro. DPP provided the best results, followed by C1Pro then ACR.