Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Soft Proofing (beginner's question)  (Read 4138 times)

luiztakei

Soft Proofing (beginner's question)
« on: June 13, 2016, 01:41:43 pm »

I have recently started trying to print some photos by myself. I am using a Canon Pro-100 with Ilford Smooth Pearl. I used LR4 to process my photo, then clicked on "Soft Proofing" (with "Simulate Paper & Ink" selected) and made more adjustments so that the image resembled the processed one as much as possible (following the LR4 tutorial video found here on LuLa). I then printed it and realized it was much greener than the screen version (under "Soft Proofing"). I then decided to print the master version (processed one but without soft proofing adjustments) and it turned out much closer to the screen image.

Can someone give me some hints as to why that happens?

I do have to say I am not a professional and, thus, I am using a laptop screen that was calibrated using QuickGamma (not an external piece of hardware).

Thanks a lot!

Mark D Segal

• Contributor
    • http://www.markdsegal.com
Re: Soft Proofing (beginner's question)
« Reply #1 on: June 13, 2016, 04:07:45 pm »

It can be very frustrating trying to implement a colour-managed workflow from a laptop display - and all the more so without proper external display profiling hardware and software.
Mark D Segal (formerly MarkDS)
Author: "Scanning Workflows with SilverFast 8....."

luiztakei

« Reply #2 on: June 13, 2016, 09:40:28 pm »

Hi Mark. Thanks for the reply!

Do you know what would be an acceptable monitor that I can buy for not too much money?

Mark D Segal

• Contributor
« Reply #3 on: June 13, 2016, 10:28:58 pm »

How much do you want to spend?

luiztakei

« Reply #4 on: June 13, 2016, 10:47:46 pm »

As little as possible to achieve an "acceptable" result for an amateur.

(I know this is very subjective but I really shouldn't spend too much...)

Mark D Segal

• Contributor
« Reply #5 on: June 13, 2016, 11:04:19 pm »