Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Moving a catalog to a new external hard drive  (Read 9182 times)

The View

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1274
Moving a catalog to a new external hard drive
« on: December 07, 2015, 12:13:26 am »

My external hard drive that hosts my catalog has been reporting write errors through Carbon Copy Cloner, so I'll move it to a new and bigger hard drive.

How do you get Capture one Pro 8 to follow this? I have about 300 to 400 image folders in there, so it can't be that I use the "locate" feature for each folder.

How do you move the whole catalog so the reference files get updated?
Logged
The View of deserts, forests, mountains. Not the TV show that I have never watched.

David Grover / Phase One

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1319
    • Phase One
Re: Moving a catalog to a new external hard drive
« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2015, 04:08:19 am »

My external hard drive that hosts my catalog has been reporting write errors through Carbon Copy Cloner, so I'll move it to a new and bigger hard drive.

How do you get Capture one Pro 8 to follow this? I have about 300 to 400 image folders in there, so it can't be that I use the "locate" feature for each folder.

How do you move the whole catalog so the reference files get updated?

Just locate the top parent folder.

Logged
David Grover
Business Support and Development Manager, Software.

sebbe

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 113
Re: Moving a catalog to a new external hard drive
« Reply #2 on: December 07, 2015, 04:50:29 am »

Just locate the top parent folder.

Does that work also with only some moved folders?

I import my files always to C:\...\pic\capturedate\
after processing I move the finished folder to Z:\...\pic\capturedate\
then I use the locate function for each moved folder.
But if I understand you right, I just can use the locate function on C:\...\pic\ and set it to Z:\...pic\. it will only update those I moved and let anything else as it is?

I'm a little scared to just try it, because I don't want to have a mess at the end. :)
Logged

David Grover / Phase One

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1319
    • Phase One
Re: Moving a catalog to a new external hard drive
« Reply #3 on: December 07, 2015, 05:57:43 am »

Does that work also with only some moved folders?

I import my files always to C:\...\pic\capturedate\
after processing I move the finished folder to Z:\...\pic\capturedate\
then I use the locate function for each moved folder.
But if I understand you right, I just can use the locate function on C:\...\pic\ and set it to Z:\...pic\. it will only update those I moved and let anything else as it is?

I'm a little scared to just try it, because I don't want to have a mess at the end. :)

Maybe a naive question - why not just import to Z in the first place?

In your case it wouldn't work as Z does not need to be relocated but in the OP's scenario he has moved an ENTITRE structure.   ;)

D
Logged
David Grover
Business Support and Development Manager, Software.

sebbe

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 113
Re: Moving a catalog to a new external hard drive
« Reply #4 on: December 07, 2015, 07:25:28 am »

Because the first folder is local and SSD (C-drive) and the 2nd is in the network and SATA (z-drive). The catalogue is on another local SSD (D-drive) and stays there.
But maybe there is not much (performance) difference in C1, if the RAW file is local/SSD or 1GB-network/SATA? I hardly work on files on the Z-drive, so I don't have tried this out jet...
« Last Edit: December 07, 2015, 08:00:32 am by sebbe »
Logged

The View

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1274
Re: Moving a catalog to a new external hard drive
« Reply #5 on: December 09, 2015, 12:18:59 am »

Just locate the top parent folder.

The top parent folder of all the RAW files?

From Capture One Pro?

How?

Also, I have one top folder per year of RAW files, but not one that unites them all.

And I can't see a single folder in Capture One Pro.

So I can't really place your comment.
Logged
The View of deserts, forests, mountains. Not the TV show that I have never watched.

David Grover / Phase One

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1319
    • Phase One
Re: Moving a catalog to a new external hard drive
« Reply #6 on: December 09, 2015, 08:53:11 am »

The top parent folder of all the RAW files?

From Capture One Pro?

How?

Also, I have one top folder per year of RAW files, but not one that unites them all.

And I can't see a single folder in Capture One Pro.

So I can't really place your comment.

Hi View,

This is really like shooting fish in a barrel, without seeing your folder structure and so forth.

Can I suggest the fastest resolution is to make a support case?  Www.phaseone.com/support

David
Logged
David Grover
Business Support and Development Manager, Software.

jeremyrh

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1628
Re: Moving a catalog to a new external hard drive
« Reply #7 on: October 21, 2018, 02:11:51 am »

Just locate the top parent folder.

Returning to an old subject ...

What do you mean by "locate" ??
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up