Its underlying function is to reorganise files into folders, which is a real need in Lightroom - but it's not a need that is limited to when people are importing files. Why should people have to reimport files if they want to reorganise those files' physical location?
You're way off base John, people use
Move during import for all kinds of reasons, that's
why it was implemented in the first place**!
Adobe is either wrong or wrong, you pick: They were wrong to provide
Move in
Import in the first place despite users finding it darn useful. Or they are more wrong removing a feature that's been available for years! You pick which is more wrong to you, those of us that use
Move during Import
know that the feature was useful and that removing legacy features like this break workflows and piss off customers. If Lightroom's PM had a bloody clues he would have:
Asked his customer base about removing the feature first (he didn't).
Asked his prerelease team about removing the feature (he ignored them).
Provided a preference for the new
Import for '
dummies" or the existing
Import for the rest of us (he didn't).
Oh and I'd like my Eject Card functionality back too!
I don't know how long you've used Adobe products, my experience dates back to about a month after Photoshop 1.0.9 shipped in 1990. I've been a '
beta' since version 2.5. I suspect I've spoken to more people about these products and been called an
Adobe Fan Boy a lot more than you have. How anyone can defend what happened with the last release is beyond me and would be a perfect example of an Adobe Fan Boy. I simply can't accept Adobe
wrecking long existing workflows and they deserve to be called out. IF that affects my Adobe Fan Boy monicker, so be it.
What we need is a person who can steer this LR ship. Hamburg could do this and provided proof running the PS program before LR was a concept in his head.
**From Victoria Bampton's superb FAQ:
• Move copies the photos to the folder structure of your choice but it also removes the files from their original location. The Move option is particularly useful if you want Lightroom to reorganize your existing photos while importing, as it doesn’t take up additional hard drive space.