Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: ipf8000 printing rgb vs cmyk  (Read 1502 times)

cqmaps

ipf8000 printing rgb vs cmyk
« on: September 16, 2015, 01:26:39 pm »

Hello everyone, I am back again with another question. Apologizes for not posting much, but I am still learning.

The ipf8000 I have is working just fine. But I do have a question about selecting ink types to print from.  I seem to remember that the guy I bought it from early last year indicated that I can have the printer print from either CMYK or RGB. From what I can see, it is using CMYK only along with some of the blacks. But no rgb. I have looked around and cannot seem to find the answer. Perhaps I am not asking the question correctly.

I guess what I am looking for is a clear indication of whether or not there is a setting in the printer that allows me to choose CMYK or RGB only. I am primarily printing from either windows print viewer or Esri ArcView (GIS software, I am a cartographer).

Any help would be very much appreciated.

Nora_nor

Re: ipf8000 printing rgb vs cmyk
« Reply #1 on: September 17, 2015, 09:31:44 am »

You need absolute colours?
--We use RGB mode because the printer driver assumes either sRGB or ARGB. Dunno about the canon printer plugin for prhotoshop and CMYK. Dunno about windows stuff, and often it has bad or no colour management (does not take ic profiles into account)

Ernst Dinkla

« Reply #2 on: September 17, 2015, 11:56:57 am »

Hello everyone, I am back again with another question. Apologizes for not posting much, but I am still learning.

The ipf8000 I have is working just fine. But I do have a question about selecting ink types to print from.  I seem to remember that the guy I bought it from early last year indicated that I can have the printer print from either CMYK or RGB. From what I can see, it is using CMYK only along with some of the blacks. But no rgb. I have looked around and cannot seem to find the answer. Perhaps I am not asking the question correctly.