Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Flange focal distances on Schneider Apo-Digitar lenses  (Read 3441 times)

ll971

Flange focal distances on Schneider Apo-Digitar lenses
« on: July 23, 2015, 06:02:09 pm »

Hi,

I'm new to large format lenses and cameras  that use them.  Actually,  I will try to use Schneider Apo-Digitar lenses (with Copal 0 shutter) on a bellow connected to my Canon Mark II (to control perspectives and focus).  I suppose this isn't really LF lenses, more like medium format and used with digital image sensors.

When locking on the actual lenses I'm little confused.  Some of the wide angle Schneider Digitar lenses have very short flange focal distances,  the 5.6/24mm XL is only about 24.2 - 26.4mm (varies on what shutter used), 5.6/35mm XL is 37.2 - 39.4mm, the standard lens 4.0/80mm L is 76.6 - 78.8mm (I have the 80mm, find one used in mint condition). 
http://www.aifo.se/pdf/Digitare_e.pdf

What medium format digital camera body can use a lens with a flange focal distance under 40mm and still have focus to infinity?  My Canon is 44mm between the mounting ring in front of the body and the digital sensor.
Maybe I misunderstand flange focal distances used with this type of lenses, i.e to get them focus to infinity.
Any help here? Thanks.

Jan Dansson
Sweden   

Paul2660

• Photos of Arkansas
Re: Flange focal distances on Schneider Apo-Digitar lenses
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2015, 07:09:25 pm »

If I understand your question, I believe that you can only start at 90mm and on up as long as you use a DSLR 35mm body, i.e. Nikon or Canon.  The mirror box depth will not allow infinity focus for anything wider. 

You can read more about this on posts about the Arca DSLR2, which is a M2 designed around a Canon DSLR body.  The focal length for that is 90mm and on up and that allows you to get the rear element right up to the opening on the Canon or Nikon .

With a Sony mirrorless, you can get to 32mm, either using a Aptus by Cambo or Universalis by Arca.