Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Going digital - need advice  (Read 9838 times)

gododdin

Going digital - need advice
« on: February 15, 2006, 09:44:54 am »

Hi all - first post to this forum.

Well, I'm about to take the plunge, but I don't want to make a decision now that I'll regret for years to come.  Here are my thoughts - any advice would be much appreciated.

I have been a photographer for about 30 years, both with 35mm (currently a Nikon F100 along with standard zoom) and medium format (Kowa Super 66 and a range of primes).  I take mainly landscapes, but also some reportage (for a local newspaper).

So what should I go for?  I know that each side will have its champions but let's hear those opinions!      I'm looking to buy a mid range DSLR, and have been looking at the Canon EOS 20D (soon to be replaced I believe - 21 February?), the Nikon D200 and also the Fuji S3 Pro.  I'd love to go for the EOS 5D but it's just too expensive as I have to buy a lens too.

Also lenses - until I decide on a system I'm bewildered by the range of lenses out there and also by the varying reviews some favourable, some not.  What I'd like (and I suppose wouldn't we all...) is a general purpose zoom in the 35mm equivalent of 28 - 100 with reasonably good optics, with most of the use probably being at the wider end.  

Total budget is around £1,600 and I have to try to include a 1gb memory card in that as well.

Any thoughts or advice would be much appreciated.

Frere Jacques

• http://found.kezman.info/
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2006, 11:09:20 am »

I just bought a D200 as my first digital body 2 weeks ago & it is a very easy migration from the F100. (My film body as well) The D200 is thicker than the F100, so it may seem a bit big when you first take hold of it. I became accustomed to the new feel quickly. You will appreciate how similar the control layout is to the F100. Plus your lenses will mount!