Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: CA with 24-105 a problem for slides?  (Read 2972 times)

FrankM

CA with 24-105 a problem for slides?
« on: February 13, 2006, 07:02:37 am »

Hi,
I am new here and I hope you can help.
I am still a slide photographer (until there is no better possibility to show the pictures).
I used to have an old Eos 5 and upgraded recently to an used 1V. Apart of my 300/4 l I own a 28-105 3.5-4.5 which is not the best lens on the planet. Now I am looking for a new one in this range.
Nothing as easy as that: 24-105 L
I´ve seen the MTF charts and read a lot of reviews. It seems to be the best lens in this category. But there are sometimes comments about the CA with that lens.
What are the problems caused by this CAs for me?
As a slide photographer I am not able to correct it.
The main thing is that canon seem to build new lenses always with the knowlege of the simply removable lens problems (with PS and Raw) and keep the eye on contrast and sharpness.

Should I better look for another lens with less CA? Which?
I would also buy primes but together not more expensive than the zoom.
The tele range is not the problem (85 1.8 or 100 macro) but what is a good wide angle prime lens?
Thanks

Sheldon N

« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2006, 12:07:32 pm »

I just picked one up last week for use with my 20D, and am very happy with it. I don't think that CA will be a problem for you, that's something you probably wouldn't notice on your slides. CA complaints are a lot more prevalent nowadays because DSLR users take pictures of backlit tree branches and check them at 100% view for problems.

The main complaints I've seen with this lens are from full frame users that dislike the barrel distortion and vignetting. Some complaints of flare are also out there, but the majority of that problem was addressed by Canon.