As has been the case since I acquired Photoshop, when I turned on my computer today, I received a notice of updates. I clicked on the dialogue and was taken to the familiar list of suggested updates which included two updates for PS, one V27.1 and just below that, a second PS, V26.11.2.
Thinking I had missed a prior update notice for 26.11.2 and also thinking there was no point in updating that one first then 27.1, I just did an update on 27.1, and carried on using PS. Except for the version number, both updates were for the same Photoshop.
However, now when I turn on the computer, I get another update notice and when I follow the link, it shows the V26.11.2, as yet updated. This occurs every time. Not wanting to see the notice repeatedly, I figured I would just update this version (thinking it would just insert somewhere in the newest V27 or was already included in 27 and the notice would then go away).
Again however, when I tried updating V26.11.2, I received a warning that if I install this version, the auto-upgrade setting would be disabled "to prevent overwriting with a new version in the future". And I don't even know what this means exactly....
To make things even more confusing, I checked the current version of PS and it shows V26.11.1, not 27.
I am obviously missing something here and ask for advice/suggestions.
Marv