Luminous Landscape Forum

Equipment & Techniques => Cameras, Lenses and Shooting gear => Topic started by: AndreG on December 05, 2007, 12:03:16 pm

Title: DS Mark II
Post by: AndreG on December 05, 2007, 12:03:16 pm
Hi,

I am trying to understand the settings in the shooting Menu of a DS Mark II.

I only shoot in the RAW mode. At the present, I have three questions:

1. Does Parameters, Color matrix, Noise reduction are applied only to the JPEG photos or are they also applied to RAW photos?

2. I once read that the RAW file will register these settings. Some Camera Raw Developpers may apply them or not. Is this true?

3. Is it preferable not to activate the Camera Noise Reduction and Camera Sharpening but to use a specilized applications (Noise Ninja, Pixel Genius)?

Thank you for your time and expertise.

André
Title: DS Mark II
Post by: djgarcia on December 05, 2007, 01:08:25 pm
I can handle this one :

1. Nothing is done to the RAW by any in-camera parameter setting, including WB.

2. AFAICT neither ACR nor Lightroom uses these at all.

3. It would be, but there's no way to sharpen the RAW file in-camera anyway, so moot question.
Title: DS Mark II
Post by: AndreG on December 05, 2007, 04:52:55 pm
Quote
I can handle this one :

1. Nothing is done to the RAW by any in-camera parameter setting, including WB.

2. AFAICT neither ACR nor Lightroom uses these at all.

3. It would be, but there's no way to sharpen the RAW file in-camera anyway, so moot question.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=158449\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Thank you for your answer, it clears my mind.
Title: DS Mark II
Post by: AndreG on December 05, 2007, 05:04:08 pm
Quote
Thank you for your answer, it clears my mind.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=158495\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]


On second thought, the WB is taken into account by the Raw Developpers ? It's the others that I was no sure of. A Nikon rep told me the RAW is really as is, but  he immediatly added that it was not the case for Canon.

Thanks
Title: DS Mark II
Post by: djgarcia on December 05, 2007, 05:10:36 pm
Quote
On second thought, the WB is taken into account by the Raw Developpers ? It's the others that I was no sure of. A Nikon rep told me the RAW is really as is, but  he immediatly added that it was not the case for Canon.

Thanks
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=158499\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
And you're going to believe anything a Nikon salesman says about Canon  ? I have my 1Ds II WB set to 5500K, ACR shows default "as taken" WB as 5200K. 'Nuff said  ...