Luminous Landscape Forum

Raw & Post Processing, Printing => Colour Management => Topic started by: Doug Gray on September 09, 2019, 04:42:20 pm

Title: I1Profiler V3
Post by: Doug Gray on September 09, 2019, 04:42:20 pm
XRite has released a new version of I1Profiler that they recommend people upgrade to. It works with the older stuff including my original dongle from PM5. It has the necessary stuff to work with the new M3 I1Pro  3 but is compatible with iSis spectros as well as the I1Pro.

It also has fixed making profiles from certain custom RGB targets I have where the prior version 1.8.3 would croak causing the program to just close about 10% into making a profile. This happened more often when I used a custom illuminant. Otherwise, it was only a problem on a few charts, mostly those with lots of near neutral RGB values I use to get better B&W with color printers. These always worked with Argyll but occasionally puke with the older I1Profiler.

As far as I can tell, the profiles created are otherwise identical but haven't yet done a comprehensive compatibility test.
Title: Re: I1Profiler V3
Post by: digitaldog on September 09, 2019, 05:41:29 pm
When I do a check, I see this:

Title: Re: I1Profiler V3
Post by: digitaldog on September 09, 2019, 05:46:10 pm
Wow, not only doesn't the last version have a clue how to auto update, it seems X-rite went from version 1.8.3 directly to version 3.0. Had to manually log into "My X-rite" to discovers this....
WHO is beta testing for these poor folks these days? Not I!  ;D
Title: Re: I1Profiler V3
Post by: lhodaniel on September 09, 2019, 05:49:45 pm
Andrew,

I had the same issue, except I'm on 1.83 for Windows. The program would not find the update. I downloaded v3 from the web site. Supposedly, V3 works for display and printer profiling on my i1Pro 1, but one cannot transfer or upgrade the license with that spectro. In practice, I can't get it to find my i1Pro. The choices on the device pull-down are i1 Display, I1Pro2, and i1Pro3 only.

I guess I'll call x-rite and see if the live up to their usual unhelpful standard.

Lloyd
Title: Re: I1Profiler V3
Post by: digitaldog on September 09, 2019, 06:01:14 pm
Boy do I miss the old GretagMacbeth engineering team!
They broke the auto update.
The HAPS dongle update is still 32 bit, meaning it's toast for the next release (pretty soon) of MacOS which will only run 64-bit applications. At least, according to Mac system report>Applications, at least the 3.0 version IS 64-bits; hence the massive JUMP from 1.8.3 to 3.0.
Title: Re: I1Profiler V3
Post by: digitaldog on September 09, 2019, 06:08:43 pm
The release notes are hilarious.
Under new features of the application there's this one line that's correct:
Adds support for the i1Pro 3 PLUS large aperture spectrophotometer.
Then about 10 lines about the features of not this software, but the new hardware.
Known Issues is a good solid page of text to read.
But they did fix two bugs moving from 1.8.3 to 3.0.
Title: Re: I1Profiler V3
Post by: lhodaniel on September 09, 2019, 11:41:52 pm
The i1Pro is being recognized now. Windows decided to load the Argyll i1Pro driver instead of the X-rite driver.
Title: Re: I1Profiler V3
Post by: keithcooper on September 10, 2019, 11:54:01 am
There is some more about what's in V3 in the i1Pro3+ review I've just published (see the thread in this forum).

If you are using an original i1Pro, then whilst printer/monitor profiling will work with V3, but there are some 'issues' in license handling for updates.

I've no further info on what this means in practice, but would note that the i1Pro is unlikely to be supported for ever. When writing the review I looked for clarification on the licensing issues, but could find none.

When installing V3 there was (on my Mac) the option to install an updated HASP driver - I've not had any warnings about this, but I'm only running 10.13. My i1iSis XL works fine (full i1Publish license) with the original dongle and V3

One fix that did make V3 is that the profiling progress indicator now just goes from 0 to 100 - whether this represents any changes to what's going on underneath, is unknown.

What happened to V2.x was above the pay grade of anyone I spoke to ;-)
Title: Re: I1Profiler V3
Post by: digitaldog on September 10, 2019, 12:11:32 pm
If you are using an original i1Pro, then whilst printer/monitor profiling will work with V3, but there are some 'issues' in license handling for updates.
The main issues will be the lack of 64-bit support for HASP which is the silly and unnecessary hardware protection used by X-rite. The next OS simply will not allow your dongle to work unless X-rite changes it's licensing via hardware or gets HASP to update their driver. Doesn't matter what Spectrophotometer you use; if you have a dongle as I and many other's do, it's toast. Until something is fixed in for next major Mac OS.

Quote
I've not had any warnings about this, but I'm only running 10.13. My i1iSis XL works fine (full i1Publish license) with the original dongle and V3
Because HASP has absolutely nothing to do with your Isis (or mine) or any Spectrophotometers. It has to do with actually launching i1P. Try launching i1 Publish without a dongle. That's what many will see if they run without the HASP software to recognize the dongle in the next Mac OS.  :'(
Title: Re: I1Profiler V3
Post by: digitaldog on September 10, 2019, 12:17:25 pm
I've no further info on what this means in practice, but would note that the i1Pro is unlikely to be supported for ever.
I'm not sure what that implies.
On one hand, nothing is likely to be supported forever. At some point in the future, this entire planet will vaporize.  ;D
On the other hand, I can still run ColorBlind from the early 90's with my early ColorTron. I just have to haul out the very old Mac I keep that can boot OS8 or OS9 to do so.
At this point, the original i1Pro is a USB device. As long as the software you wish to use communicates with it, it will run just fine until it too vaporizes with the entire planet.
As I just suggested, the bigger worry is how the current version (or last few) of i1P will run under the next OS that demands everything be 64-bit; including silly hardware protection that as yet, doesn't.
Title: Re: I1Profiler V3
Post by: keithcooper on September 10, 2019, 01:50:33 pm
The main issues will be the lack of 64-bit support for HASP which is the silly and unnecessary hardware protection used by X-rite. The next OS simply will not allow your dongle to work unless X-rite changes it's licensing via hardware or gets HASP to update their driver. Doesn't matter what Spectrophotometer you use; if you have a dongle as I and many other's do, it's toast. Until something is fixed in for next major Mac OS.
Because HASP has absolutely nothing to do with your Isis (or mine) or any Spectrophotometers. It has to do with actually launching i1P. Try launching i1 Publish without a dongle. That's what many will see if they run without the HASP software to recognize the dongle in the next Mac OS.  :'(
Well, it has plenty to do with my iSis, since I only use it with i1Profiler

BTW Have you updated the HASP driver when installing V3? it's not a default install.


Title: Re: I1Profiler V3
Post by: digitaldog on September 10, 2019, 02:10:44 pm
Well, it has plenty to do with my iSis, since I only use it with i1Profiler
No sir. It has everything to do with that software; i1P. It has nothing to do with the instrument itself.
Of course, you can find plenty of other software products to drive the iSis, save a CGATs and then load into i1P. But WITHOUT the HASP dongle working, i1P will not and you're screwed.

Quote
BTW Have you updated the HASP driver when installing V3? it's not a default install.
Of course I did: to confirm as shown it's NOT 64-bit. As seen in the Mac OS warning and as seen in System Report>Applications to confirm i1P V3 is 64-bit but HASP isn't. All in a day's  few minutes good/sound testing of software!  ;)
Title: Re: I1Profiler V3
Post by: Doug Gray on September 10, 2019, 03:17:47 pm
On Windows, I1Profiler, w/o any sort of license, will create, print and scan targets. And it can save CGATs files. It needs a license (and dongle or connected and licensed I1Pro2/3) to make a profile from that data or data from another source.

V3 shows as a 32bit app in Windows and likely has an upper limit on the number of patchs. It would be interesting to test.
Title: Re: I1Profiler V3
Post by: digitaldog on September 10, 2019, 03:42:06 pm
On Windows, I1Profiler, w/o any sort of license, will create, print and scan targets. And it can save CGATs files. It needs a license (and dongle or connected and licensed I1Pro2/3) to make a profile from that data or data from another source.
Same on Mac. Without a HASP dongle, you're not making profiles. Without 64-bit (HASP) support, you're not on the next Mac OS either.
Title: Re: I1Profiler V3
Post by: Daverich on September 12, 2019, 02:19:37 pm
Same on Mac. Without a HASP dongle, you're not making profiles. Without 64-bit (HASP) support, you're not on the next Mac OS either.

“Because HASP has absolutely nothing to do with your Isis (or mine) or any Spectrophotometers. It has to do with actually launching i1P. Try launching i1 Publish without a dongle.”

In an earlier post you appeared to say that i1 Publish wouldn’t run at all but if I understand your last post it runs but won’t actually create a profile?
Title: Re: I1Profiler V3
Post by: digitaldog on September 12, 2019, 03:08:25 pm
In an earlier post you appeared to say that i1 Publish wouldn’t run at all but if I understand your last post it runs but won’t actually create a profile?
Runs fine without a dongle. Can you create profiles? No. Does the dongle control which features are available (CMYK, CMYK plus, device link profiles)? Yes. The licensing varies as do the capabilities of the software based on the licensing which is controlled by the hardware key (Dongle) and HASP software.
Title: Re: I1Profiler V3
Post by: Daverich on September 12, 2019, 03:56:52 pm
Runs fine without a dongle. Can you create profiles? No. Does the dongle control which features are available (CMYK, CMYK plus, device link profiles)? Yes. The licensing varies as do the capabilities of the software based on the licensing which is controlled by the hardware key (Dongle) and HASP software.

I just tried mine without the i1 Pro plugged into it and as you said, it does run but in demo mode. I have i1 Profiler Publish but not a separate dongle. It's been awhile but I think when I first installed it I had to plug in the dongle from Profilemaker 5 but no longer have to do that. Is my i1 Pro the dongle now? As soon as I plug that in and restart Profiler I get the regular working version. As far as 32/64 bit, when I check Applications under About This Mac, i1Profiler, i1ProfilerTray and X-Rite Device Services are all identified as 64 Bit. I don't seem to have any software from X-Rite that I can see that isn't 64 bit. Should I be looking for something else? I don't appear to have Hasp software either but I don't think I ever had Profilemaker 5 on this computer. I do see that my Spectraview II software is 32 bit so I'm stuck until that gets updated anyway.
Title: Re: I1Profiler V3
Post by: digitaldog on September 12, 2019, 04:01:18 pm
My Dongle has a license for ProfileMaker Pro and i1P Publish. IOW, depending on how you were taken care of by X-rite/GMB, your dongle can have either, both, and the extent of the features again depends on the licensing in the dongle. You can upgrade and update the dongle too.
The dongle needs software to run. Without it, it doesn't light up and it doesn't work. That's the HASP driver shown earlier** that the Mac OS tells us isn't compatible with the next major OS. This is what needs to be updated. OR X-rite needs to come up with an actual software licensing schema. The X-rite software is now 64-bit, but it will continue to run in demo on the next Mac OS unless they get HASP to update the dongle drivers which is kind of questionable.


** September 09, 2019, 04:01:14 pm »
Title: Re: I1Profiler V3
Post by: Daverich on September 12, 2019, 04:19:45 pm
My Dongle has a license for ProfileMaker Pro and i1P Publish. IOW, depending on how you were taken care of by X-rite/GMB, your dongle can have either, both, and the extent of the features again depends on the licensing in the dongle. You can upgrade and update the dongle too.
The dongle needs software to run. Without it, it doesn't light up and it doesn't work. That's the HASP driver shown earlier** that the Mac OS tells us isn't compatible with the next major OS. This is what needs to be updated. OR X-rite needs to come up with an actual software licensing schema. The X-rite software is now 64-bit, but it will continue to run in demo on the next Mac OS unless they get HASP to update the dongle drivers which is kind of questionable.

I don’t use a separate dongle like I used to so is it possible I’m not running the Hasp driver? I don’t find any sign of one either through About This Mac or search.

** September 09, 2019, 04:01:14 pm »
Title: Re: I1Profiler V3
Post by: digitaldog on September 12, 2019, 04:22:35 pm
The "dongle" (license) can also be embedded in some instruments like the i1 Pro Spectro.
Title: Re: I1Profiler V3
Post by: digitaldog on October 07, 2019, 03:47:17 pm
Well Catalina is out today but I'm not going to be the first to update without knowing if it will 'kill' my dongle and thus license. I did go to X-rite and start a conversation there asking what will happen, after typing in my question I was told, no support available. Terrific.  ???
Title: Re: I1Profiler V3
Post by: Doug Gray on October 07, 2019, 07:10:51 pm
As usual, there are a few bugs. Some are amusing.

When you select the dropdown for profile type it lists V4 and V2 with V2 as the default but V4 is preselected. Hitting the default box reselects V4 even though V2 remains listed as the default.

I've also noticed some (fairly rare) occasions when making profiles from different data sets fails. Closing I1Profiler before making a new profile with different data fixed it.
Title: Re: I1Profiler V3
Post by: neil snape on October 13, 2021, 12:58:46 pm
Just a note for those wanting to try to continue with our old dongles and i1 Pro v1's.
First off after installing Calibrite software, it will update the software drivers so you'll have to re-install X-Rite i1Profiler v3.1.1 the last version to ever support the V1 i1 Pro.
Second a little gotcha; when installing the above go slow and check the HASP box before continuing.
Third allow privacy settings for X-Rite whatever they need.   This is for Mac.

Okay reboot and you should now see your license and the HASP dongle light up.

On Big Sur, the dongle will disconnect often. If your measured rows say they are missing a patch it is likely that the HASP usb dongle has disconnected. Luckily i1 Profiler allows measurements without a licence so once started even if it times out, you can measure the chart and save it.
You will likely have to unplug and put back the dongle multiple times before being able to save the profile.

X-Rite have left the station as far as their site goes. Good luck in getting information! For example if you try to access HASP for i1 Profiler you'll get a system error on their server. The HASP driver is in the package for Mac when installing V3.1.1 or previous.
I have no idea if Calibrite will honour license transfers from HASP to devices. X-Rite never replied to any of my requests before so....   and I am a Coloratti!

Best download the V3.1.1 versions Mac and PC as they will disappear someday.