Luminous Landscape Forum
Raw & Post Processing, Printing => Adobe Lightroom Q&A => Topic started by: PeterAit on April 23, 2015, 08:19:07 am
-
If I install Photoshop and LR CC versions, will my current LR 5.7 and PS 5.1 remain intact and usable?
-
Installations do not remove previous versions of Lightroom and Photoshop.
-
Installations do not remove previous versions of Lightroom and Photoshop.
Correct, but what happens to the older (non-CC) versions when removing the CC versions, remains an open question given the varying user feedback. Some have no problems, others are left with non-functiong software that needs to be removed and re-installed.
Cheers,
Bart
-
Hi, the main issue would be the LR catalog. Each version modifies the structure. Once you convert the catalog it cannot be used by the old version. You can keep a backup of the old catalog, but any new content will not be accessible.
-
Hi, the main issue would be the LR catalog. Each version modifies the structure. Once you convert the catalog it cannot be used by the old version. You can keep a backup of the old catalog, but any new content will not be accessible.
Yes, that's WHY LR6 converts the new catalog and retains the old, nothing new here. We've seen this behavior for years. Begging the question, what main or secondary issue?
-
It is an issue if you don't want to continue with CC and want to go back to 5.7 or earlier. At least that's what I thought the OP question was.
-
It is an issue if you don't want to continue with CC and want to go back to 5.7 or earlier. At least that's what I thought the OP question was.
No it's not. You have LR5 and the LR5 catalog to use. You have LR6 and LR6 catalog to use. The newer product and catalog has newer functionality that isn't backwards compatible. This is nothing new! Either for LR or a myriad of other products, Adobe or otherwise.
If you don't want to continue CC, you yourself decide to stop using the product. We beat this horse dead years ago when Photoshop CC came about.
IF you keep LR5 and the LR5 catalog and cancel LR6 CC, the old app and catalog will run just fine. If you want the new stuff to work, don't cancel