Luminous Landscape Forum
Raw & Post Processing, Printing => Digital Image Processing => Topic started by: Jeremy Roussak on May 22, 2010, 02:17:28 pm
-
I ask this question to demonstrate my general ignorance of PS.
Sometimes when I make a selection and hit the delete key, I get a dialog asking how I want to fill the deleted area: I can use content-aware (which is magical). Sometimes, PS just erases the selection and replaces it with the pale grey chequerboard.
Why? What is the setting that I've missed which will ensure that I always get the dialog?
Thanks
Jeremy
-
In case I misled people with my first sentence, that wasn't my only reason for asking the question!
Anyone? Please?
Jeremy
-
If you're on the Background layer, you get the content aware fill when you delete.
If you're on another layer, just just deletes.
There may be other reasons that I don't know but this is one.
-
When you are on another layer use shift delete for content aware fill.
-
Thanks. I knew I must have been missing something.
Jeremy
-
Thanks. I knew I must have been missing something.
Jeremy
Thanks for asking - I was wondering that myself.
Mike.
-
Thanks for asking - I was wondering that myself.
Mike.
And if you don't want to remember 2 diferent settings, you can always bring up the content-aware fill dialogue with Shift F5.
-
Thanks for asking - I was wondering that myself.
Mike.
Me too. I have beeen making a selection, then Edit>Fill>Content aware
Dave
-
In a layer or background, my habit is to right-click on the selection, click Fill (right-or-left click), then choose from the "Contents" drop-down menu.