Luminous Landscape Forum

Raw & Post Processing, Printing => Digital Image Processing => Topic started by: Craig Murphy on January 02, 2008, 12:26:03 pm

Title: Bridge showing wrong previews
Post by: Craig Murphy on January 02, 2008, 12:26:03 pm
Bridge has been showing the wrong preview on some images.  In other words during the opening of a folder of images its grabbing thumbnails from completely unrelated photography folders.  Anyone ever have this happen?  Cause?  I'm runningWindows xp.
Title: Bridge showing wrong previews
Post by: Nat Coalson on January 02, 2008, 01:09:10 pm
Are you using distributed cache files or the database?

If you are using distributed cache files (which is recommended) you can delete them from the folder in question; this will force Bridge to rebuild its cache of the files in that directory.
Title: Bridge showing wrong previews
Post by: Craig Murphy on January 02, 2008, 01:19:39 pm
Where exactly do you decide on distributed Cache vs database?  CS3 btw.
Title: Bridge showing wrong previews
Post by: Nat Coalson on January 02, 2008, 01:44:42 pm
Bridge Preferences > Cache

At the top, make sure "Automatically Export Caches to Folders When Possible" is checked.

(In this window you can also choose to purge the Cache, which will remove all your cached into from inside the Bridge database but doesn't remove any distributed cache files from individual folders.)

Quit Bridge and go into Windows Explorer, find the directory, make sure to be viewing all/hidden files etc. You will see two or possibly three files with Adobe Bridge in their names; it's safe delete them all. (Note that one you might see is Bridge Sort, and deleting this one will remove any custom sort order you set inside Bridge for that folder.)

Relaunch Bridge and navigate to that folder. Bridge should correctly rebuild all the thumbnails for the directory.
Title: Bridge showing wrong previews
Post by: Craig Murphy on January 02, 2008, 01:54:51 pm
Thanks Nat for the info.  I was not sure about 'purge cache' and what cache it actually purged.  Am having lots of problems with Bridge lately.  Lots of crashes.  Also.  When you reset preferences after a cntr-alt-shift during Bridge launch and check off 'Purge entire thumbnail cache' I assume correctly that this is for Bridge database only also?