Luminous Landscape Forum
Raw & Post Processing, Printing => Adobe Lightroom Q&A => Topic started by: JPrimgaard on April 11, 2007, 10:51:28 pm
-
I've done a quick search and found nothing.
Is there a way to synch two copies of LR (between my desktop and laptop) so that all of my settings are the same?
Thanks
Jake
-
Not directly - this is often debated and discussed by Jeff Schewe and other gurus as one of the requested functionality for next releases (besides the color management and other such stuff)...
You can however, copy RAW/DNG and XMP files b/w the 2 machines manually and they will be in sync. You can use some synchronize tool to do this -
-
I simply move an external drive with the Library from machine to machine. You can keep an updated version on each to view the library off line (but you can't edit the images).
-
Thanks for the input folks. I was aware of the technique using an external drive, but I guess I wasn't clear enough.
I'm mostly concerned with little things like Preferences, Identity Plate Setup etc.....
Was wondering if there was a file that can be copied from one computer to another so that all aspects of the porgram behave the same between two copies. Since I can't find anything in the menus that performs this function, I suppose that it's not available at this time from within the program itself.
-
Look in :
C:\Documents and Settings\USERNAME\Application Data\Adobe\Lightroom
Similar location in user library on the Mac.
John
-
I simply move an external drive with the Library from machine to machine. You can keep an updated version on each to view the library off line (but you can't edit the images).
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=112012\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
This works, mostly. Library, ratings, virtual copies etc migrate. But color labels don't. I found this out the hard way when I migrated to a new HDD - and had already deleted the original. I suspect they are saved in some LR config file, I just haven't been able to google the right answer.