Luminous Landscape Forum
Raw & Post Processing, Printing => Adobe Lightroom Q&A => Topic started by: BradSmith on April 27, 2023, 05:18:45 pm
-
I usually crop each image to look its best. But I get sick and tired of having to click "unlock" on every single image. Can I somehow set "unlock" as my default? Or can I synchronize "unlock" across many images?
thanks,
Brad
-
Mine seems to be the other way, ie permanently unlocked. No idea if I did anything, nor if it was locked and changed at some point.
Sorry, I don't want to try switching it to test anything :) but I'd try to synch some files and if it works create a preset with just crop selected (but no actual cropping) that you could use after import.
-
Not exactly set "unlock" as default (at least I'm not aware that's possible) but there is a workaround:
- Select all the images you want to modify
- Open the crop tool and unlock the aspect ratio
- Crop the image just enough so the parameter next to the lock changes to "custom". This step is necessary, otherwise the images will revert to "original" when closing the tool
- Close the crop tool
Now all the images previously selected will be unlocked.
-
In my experience, the lock setting is always the same as it was for the previous photo.
-
Open an image that hasn't been cropped > set what option you'd like as the default (Don't actually crop the image) > move back to the gallery without doing anything to the image.
Now the 'default' is set..... until you change it again.
The same works for most tools IIRC
HTH
-
Not exactly set "unlock" as default (at least I'm not aware that's possible) but there is a workaround:
- Select all the images you want to modify
- Open the crop tool and unlock the aspect ratio
- Crop the image just enough so the parameter next to the lock changes to "custom". This step is necessary, otherwise the images will revert to "original" when closing the tool
- Close the crop tool
Now all the images previously selected will be unlocked.
When I do exactly what you say, it DOES NOT unlock the other images. But, if after slightly changing the crop, I then SYNC images for Crop, it DOES unlock all of the images.
-
Open an image that hasn't been cropped > set what option you'd like as the default (Don't actually crop the image) > move back to the gallery without doing anything to the image.
Now the 'default' is set..... until you change it again.
The same works for most tools IIRC
HTH
This suggestion doesn't work for me. In Grid Mode, I open an uncropped image. R to open Crop Window. It is locked, so I change it to unlocked without actually cropping. G to go back to Grid. Select the next image. It is still LOCKED, not unlocked.
-
When I do exactly what you say, it DOES NOT unlock the other images. But, if after slightly changing the crop, I then SYNC images for Crop, it DOES unlock all of the images.
You're right! I had the auto sync option on.
-
@BRadSmith: I share your frustration, but here's what I do to get the Lock/Unlock to stick:
in Develop tap R, tap the padlock to switch to the mode you want, tap R again. The mode is now stuck. The next image you open will maintain the mode you set.
Works 100% for me, hope it works for you too.
-
@BRadSmith: I share your frustration, but here's what I do to get the Lock/Unlock to stick:
in Develop tap R, tap the padlock to switch to the mode you want, tap R again. The mode is now stuck. The next image you open will maintain the mode you set.
Works 100% for me, hope it works for you too.
As I outlined above in reply #4, it's always worked for me, but Brad's installation must be faulty.
-
in Develop tap R, tap the padlock to switch to the mode you want, tap R again. The mode is now stuck. The next image you open will maintain the mode you set.
Works 100% for me, hope it works for you too.
Me too, always has since day one.
If it doesn't for others, they have some issues that may require a preference reset.
Try resetting your Lightroom preferences:
https://helpx.adobe.com/lightroom-classic/help/setting-preferences-lightroom.html
Also see: https://community.adobe.com/t5/lightroom-classic-discussions/important-steps-for-manually-resetting-preferences-omitted-from-help-article/td-p/12972518
Quit Lightroom Classic.
macOS: Press and hold the Shift + Option keys.
Windows: Press and hold the Shift + Alt keys.
While holding down the keys, launch Lightroom Classic.
When asked, select "Yes".
-
Thanks to everyone for trying to help, but none of the above suggestions, including resetting Preferences solved the problem.
The only workaround I've found on my installation is what I described in #5 above.
Brad