Luminous Landscape Forum
Raw & Post Processing, Printing => Adobe Lightroom Q&A => Topic started by: walter.sk on June 08, 2016, 03:37:00 pm
-
I just upgraded to the new version of LR CC on a Windows 10 machine. I upgraded through the Adobe Cloud app, and it confirmed that the upgrade finished OK. When I tried to open the new LR I got a message that my catalogue was in use by another program. I made sure that no version of LR was open, and retried. Same error message.
After a reboot of the computer, I still get the same message. Any ideas out there?
-
Normally that is caused by an orphaned LOCK file left behind by a previous shutdown issue. With Lightroom closed, go to the folder where your catalog resides and look for a file with the same name as your catalog but with the extension LOCK. Rename this file. Launch Lightroom.
-
Thanks Rikk I have had this same issue in the past. Never knew about the shutdown lock.
Paul C
-
Many thanks! I renamed the Lock file and LR is now checking the integrity of the catalogue. I assume I'm home free!
-
Well, I did get my catalogue back, with all the ratings and keywords. Whew! However, my Edit In presets are gone, as are what I think were settings in my Preferences file...for example, the font size in the LR interface. Did the new LR overwrite my Prefs file and Presets, or is there a way to reclaim them? What directory would they be in?