Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Focus Stackingin C1  (Read 3588 times)

smahn

Focus Stackingin C1
« on: April 07, 2015, 01:09:50 pm »

I'm new to C1, currently suing LR.

What's your focus stacking workflow in C1? What 3rd party tools do you use (if any) and do you use the C1 editing tools before or after the stacked TIF is made?

If there's a good writeup or tutorial out there that would be great.

Bart_van_der_Wolf

Re: Focus Stackingin C1
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2015, 04:29:26 am »

I'm new to C1, currently suing LR.

What's your focus stacking workflow in C1? What 3rd party tools do you use (if any) and do you use the C1 editing tools before or after the stacked TIF is made?

Hi,

C1 is not much different form other image processing programs when it comes to focus stacking. What does help is the usually good Chromatic aberration corrections, and the LCC functionality which also allows to remove dust spots automatically. Chromatic aberration reduces luminance resolution and adds color where there should be none, and which would not help a focus-stitch. The dust spots will form an even easier to see trail of dustspots, because the focus stitching application will resize the different tiles to improve registration at the blend positions.

So you'll want to correct Chromatic aberration and Dust.

In addition, I'd only use Capture sharpening (which only improves the sharpness of the capture that was in focus without adding halos), because that may make it easier for the focus stitcher to select the in focus areas because they now have better contrast.

Of course, one has to make sure that all images have the same color balance settings.