Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Epson 3800 Ink Smudges on print  (Read 1129 times)

Dave Gurtcheff

Epson 3800 Ink Smudges on print
« on: April 03, 2015, 02:48:42 pm »

Hello all: I am a 78 year old Amateur. I have a very special project I am doing and heavy weight paper best suits the project. I chose Ilford Gold Fiber Silk, as I love this paper for B&W work. It reminds me of my darkroom days. The latest prints I made with the heavy weight paper have heavy ink smudges on the leading edge of the paper. I am including three snap shots of the problem. I also tried making a print today on Epson Ultra Premium Luster, 13"x19" size, and there are no smudges! So it must have something to do with paper thickness. I might add that I have used the Gold Fiber Silk in the past, and never had a problem, however my 3800 is rather ancient, and it, along with my Epson 7890 survived Hurricane Sandy. We were homeless for 6 months and our home had no power and no heat, so both printers were subjected to long continuous spells of freezing weather. Needless to say when we moved back home, both printers had big time ink nozzle clogs. Much wasted ink later I did get them both up and running, but the 3800 may be on it's last Hurrah. Any suggestions to fix the smudge problem? I could use the lighter weight paper, as, so far, that has not been a problem but the project would be superior with the heavier paper.

A second query: If I decide to replace my 3800 with a 3880, will the 3800 maintenance tank fit a 3880 (I have a brand new one still boxed)? Am I correct that the 3800 inks, with the exception of Vivid Magenta, are useable on the 3880? Any problem of removing all the partially used 3800 inks and using them for the 3880 initial ink charges?. And finally, are the included inks with a new 3880 full cartridges, or only partly full?
Thanks for your help...this is a great place.
Dave Gurtcheff
Beach Haven, NJ
www.modernpictorials.com

howardm

Re: Epson 3800 Ink Smudges on print