Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: LED Continuous Lights and Close-up Lenses  (Read 909 times)

Michael Erlewine

• MacroStop.com
LED Continuous Lights and Close-up Lenses
« on: April 03, 2015, 08:55:19 am »

I generally use natural light, and have, after trying it, not used flash much. In the last few years I have gotten into higher-end video (4K, 10-bit, ProRes, etc.) and gotten used to continuous light, including ARRI hot lights, various fluorescent banks, and most recently LED banks (with chimera), dimmers, and variable temperatures.

I am just beginning to experiment with LED continuous light at 5600k for still-camera use. I just bought the Ikan iLED312-V2 on-camera dual-color LED light, a small LED system, with dimmer and choice of light temperature. I am just a beginner in this arena, and wonder if any of you have looked into LED lights for close-up, macro, and so-on use? I have a ring-flash/continuous light, but am finding that a small bank of LED in the hot-shoe or on a small stand seems less cumbersome and more useful.

How close do LED lights come to being useable as daylight? What are the best brands and models?

I am getting my feet wet here and wonder if anyone else has more than their toe in the water? Let’s discuss this, if there is interest.
MichaelErlewine.smugmug.com. Founder MacroStop.com, MichaelErlewine.com, YouTube.com/user/merlewine

Hulyss

• H.Bowman
Re: LED Continuous Lights and Close-up Lenses
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2015, 09:30:48 am »

Was into led for a long time but abandoned it because of overpricing. I continue to use PAR led only for proofing and those leds alone was not cheap at all. Thing is : It work ... but you need power. Led brands are very important too. You would expect to put money on the table only if the brand use the best components AND in your case, the brand do not specify the leds. Good leds are Philips lumiled (luxeon), Cree and now, in 2015, you might expect COB modules instead of single leds (more efficient).