Equipment & Techniques > Cameras, Lenses and Shooting gear

Are B&W Photos Affected by APO Lenses?

(1/2) > >>

Michael Erlewine:
I know that APO (apochromatic lenses) are designed for color and that non-APO lenses can have all kinds of ugly fringing, etc. My question is, do non-APO lenses affect B&W photography. Does the fringing only occur in color or is there anything from axial and lateral chromatic aberration that shows up in B&W photos? Probably a stupid question, but a question nevertheless.

shadowblade:
Black-and-white photos are affected because the image is captured in colour first, before tonemapping curves are applied to produce a black-and-white image. These curves are generally not the same for every colour; therefore, there will be a fringing effect in the final black-and-white image.

Michael Erlewine:
Thanks! That is what I assumed, but I have had little (recent) experience with B&W photography.

uaiomex:
I would say that even a native (no bayer, no filters) b&w digital sensor or b&w film improve with apo glass. The color offset "ghosts" produced by non apo chromatic aberrations decrease apparent sharpness and create linear artifacts. Me thinks.
Please experts chime in.
Eduardo

Bart_van_der_Wolf:

--- Quote from: uaiomex on March 30, 2015, 03:59:22 am ---I would say that even a native (no bayer, no filters) b&w digital sensor or b&w film improve with apo glass.
--- End quote ---

Yes, and it's due to the better focus of all wavelengths for which the same plane of focus is achieved, at the same time.